Skip to content
ImmigrationUAEVisas · Residency · Business
Visit · Indian citizens

UAE visa for Indian citizens: visa on arrival with a US, UK or EU visa, and the sponsored routes

What ICP, GDRFA Dubai and the airline channels state for Indian passport holders: the 14-day and 60-day entry visa for Indians holding a valid US, UK, EU or other listed-country visa or residence (expanded 25 June 2026), the conditions, fees and extension rules, and the tourist and sponsored routes for everyone else.

Last reviewed
Checked against official UAE sources · re-reviewed every 30 days

The short answer

Indian citizens with a regular passport valid for six months can enter the UAE on a visa on arrival if they hold a valid visa or residence from a listed country; the airline pages and the GDRFA Dubai card name the United States (visa or Green Card), the United Kingdom and EU member states, and the ICP release of 25 June 2026 adds Singapore, Japan, Korea, Australia, New Zealand and Canada. The scheme has a 14-day visa for AED 100, extendable once, and a 60-day single-entry visa for AED 250 that cannot be extended. Indian citizens without a qualifying visa apply for a tourist or sponsored visit visa like other nationalities.

Key facts

Scheme
ICP 'Entry Visa for Nationals of Certain Countries': 14-day and 60-day categories (ICP news 25 Jun 2026)
Qualifying visa or residence
USA, EU member states, UK, Singapore, Japan, Korea, Australia, New Zealand, Canada (ICP); the qualifying document must be valid for at least six months (GDRFA Dubai; flydubai)
Fees
AED 100 for 14 days; AED 250 for 60 days (ICP)
Extension
14-day visa extendable once (ICP extension fee AED 250; GDRFA Dubai AED 600 plus VAT); 60-day visa non-extendable
Passport
Regular passport valid for at least six months (flydubai; u.ae general rule)
Effective
14-day visa on arrival for eligible Indians from 7 January 2024 (flydubai); expansion of nationalities and residence countries announced 25 June 2026 (ICP)
Overstay
AED 50 per day (ICP news)

Two groups of Indian travellers

Indian passport holders fall into two groups for UAE entry. The first holds a valid visa or residence permit from one of the countries the UAE lists, and can use the entry visa on arrival scheme described on this page. The second does not, and needs a tourist visa through an airline, hotel or tourism company, or a visit visa sponsored by a UAE resident relative or friend, exactly as other nationalities do. Both groups need a passport valid for at least six months.

India was the only nationality in the scheme until 25 June 2026, when ICP announced six new nationalities and six additional countries of residence. The rules below are quoted from that release, the GDRFA Dubai on-arrival extension card and the airline channel pages.

Eligibility matrix as officially stated

The ICP release names the eligible nationalities and the qualifying countries of residence. The airline pages and GDRFA Dubai card add detail on the document itself.

The ICP release lists countries of residence; the GDRFA Dubai card and airline pages name the US visa or Green Card, UK residence and EU residence specifically. Whether a UK or EU visitor visa (as opposed to residence) qualifies is not stated on the official pages we read.
Eligible nationality (ICP, 25 Jun 2026)Qualifying visa or residence country (ICP)Document wording on the channel pages
IndiaUSA; EU member states; UK; Singapore; Japan; Korea; Australia; New Zealand; CanadaEmirates: 'Permanent residency card (Green card) OR visa valid for a minimum of 6 months'. GDRFA Dubai: 'USA visa; Green card from the USA; UK residence visa; Residence visa from European Union countries', each valid for not less than six months
Indonesia; Viet Nam; Thailand; Philippines; Kenya; South Africa (added 25 Jun 2026)Same list as aboveChannel pages read on 4 September 2026 had not yet been updated for these nationalities; rely on the ICP release

14-day and 60-day visas compared

ICP news 25 Jun 2026; ICP Visa Extension card; GDRFA Dubai on-arrival extension card; Emirates and flydubai pages. Airline prices include handling.
Feature14-day visa60-day visa
Fee (ICP)AED 100AED 250
EntriesSingle entry (flydubai)Single entry (ICP)
ExtensionMay be extended once during the stay (ICP); ICP fee AED 250; GDRFA Dubai on-arrival extension AED 600 plus VAT for a further 14 days from approvalNon-extendable (ICP)
Where issuedOn arrival (flydubai; GDRFA Dubai); Emirates also sells pre-approved entry permits for USD 63ICP scheme; Emirates pre-approved entry permit USD 141.36 (airline channel)
OverstayAED 50 per dayAED 50 per day

What to carry

  • Regular Indian passport valid for at least six months.
  • The qualifying visa, residence permit or US Green Card, valid for at least six months, in the same passport or with the linking document.
  • Return or onward ticket and accommodation details, which airlines commonly ask for; the ICP release does not list documents beyond the qualifying visa.
  • Funds for the fee, which the channel pages say applies on issuance.

How it runs at the border

  1. Before travel: confirm your qualifying document is valid for six months from arrival and, if you prefer certainty, buy Emirates' pre-approved entry permit or apply through ICP smart services.
  2. On arrival: present the passport and the qualifying visa or residence; pay the visa issuance fee.
  3. Stay: 14 days from approval on the short visa (GDRFA Dubai wording), or 60 days on the long one.
  4. Extend once on the 14-day visa if needed, through GDRFA Dubai's on-arrival extension card or ICP, before the stay expires.
  5. Exit before expiry to avoid the AED 50 per day fine.

What the official pages do not state

  • Whether a UK or EU visitor visa, rather than residence, qualifies. The GDRFA Dubai card names UK and EU residence visas and a USA visa; the ICP release speaks of 'countries of residence'.
  • Whether the 60-day visa is available on arrival or only as a pre-approved permit. ICP describes it as 'issued as a single-entry, non-extendable visa' without naming the channel.
  • Which airports and land borders apply the scheme.
  • A processing or decision time for the pre-approved version.
  • Any income or bank-balance requirement; none is mentioned.

Indian citizens without a qualifying visa

You apply as any other pre-arranged nationality. A tourist visa comes through an airline, hotel or accredited tourism office (30 or 60 days in Dubai, government fee AED 252 or AED 352 plus VAT on the GDRFA Dubai card). A resident relative or friend in the UAE can sponsor a 30, 60 or 90-day visit if their salary meets the ICP tiers: AED 4,000 for a spouse, parent or child, AED 8,000 for siblings, grandparents or cousins, AED 15,000 for a friend. The 5-year multiple-entry tourist visa is open to all nationalities on a USD 4,000 six-month bank balance. Details are on visit visa requirements and multiple-entry visas.

Next step

Send us a description of the visa or residence you hold and its expiry date. We will tell you whether it matches the wording the official pages use, and if not, which sponsored route fits. If you are considering moving rather than visiting, start at Moving to the UAE from India.

Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.

Frequently asked questions

Can Indian citizens get a UAE visa on arrival?

Yes, if they hold a valid visa or residence from a listed country. The GDRFA Dubai card names a USA visa, a US Green Card, UK residence and EU residence, each valid for at least six months; the ICP release of 25 June 2026 lists the USA, EU member states, the UK, Singapore, Japan, Korea, Australia, New Zealand and Canada as qualifying countries of residence.

How much does the visa on arrival cost for Indians?

ICP states AED 100 for the 14-day visa and AED 250 for the 60-day visa. Emirates sells pre-approved permits for USD 63 and USD 141.36 through its own channel.

Can I extend the 14-day visa?

Yes, once. ICP's extension card lists AED 250; GDRFA Dubai's on-arrival extension card lists AED 600 plus VAT for a further 14 days from approval.

Does a Schengen visa count?

The GDRFA Dubai card names a 'residence visa from European Union countries'. Whether a short-stay Schengen visitor visa qualifies is not stated on the official pages we read. Confirm with the airline or ICP before travelling on that basis.

What if my US visa has less than six months left?

The channel pages and the GDRFA Dubai card require the qualifying document to be valid for at least six months. With less, apply for a tourist or sponsored visit visa instead.

Is the 60-day visa multiple entry?

No. ICP describes it as single entry and non-extendable.

Do Indian citizens need a visa for a Dubai stopover?

If you hold a qualifying visa, the on-arrival scheme covers a short stay. Otherwise the airline can issue a 48-hour or 96-hour transit visa; see transit visa.

Official sources and review

The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.

Last reviewed

Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.

Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.

Check your qualifying visa

Tell us which visa or residence you hold and its expiry. We will say whether it matches the official wording and, if not, which sponsored route fits.

No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.