UAE investor and partner residence visa through your company
How a company owner or partner obtains UAE residence: ICP's investor residence with its AED 1,000,000 contribution condition, GDRFA Dubai's Green residence for investors and partners, the Golden Visa public-investor route, free zone owner visas, the documents, the official fees, the sequence and the family-sponsorship thresholds.
The short answer
Owning a UAE company does not itself give you residence; the company sponsors you once its establishment card exists, and the route depends on your share. ICP's residence service card conditions the investor residence on a contribution to the company of at least AED 1,000,000, and GDRFA Dubai's Green residence for investors and partners uses the same AED 1,000,000 paid-share figure for a five-year, self-sponsored residence. Free zone owner visas follow each zone's allocation rules, and owners with capital of AED 2 million or more can consider the Golden Visa public-investor route. In every case you enter, complete a medical test and Emirates ID within 60 days, and can then sponsor family if your income meets the thresholds.
Key facts
- ICP investor residence condition
- Contribution to the company of at least AED 1,000,000 in cash or equivalent; in-kind contributions valued by the Ministry of Economy
- GDRFA Dubai Green residence (investor or partner)
- Share of at least AED 1,000,000 paid; 5 years, no sponsor, can sponsor family
- Golden Visa public investor
- 10 years; capital of AED 2 million (fund deposit or company capital) or an FTA letter showing AED 250,000 annual taxes
- Free zone owner visas
- Allocation set by each zone; no federal threshold stated
- Completion window
- Residence procedures within 60 days of entry (ICP)
- Family sponsorship income
- AED 4,000 a month, or AED 3,000 plus housing (ICP, u.ae, GDRFA Dubai); Dubai partner share at least AED 48,000
Who this page is for
Founders, shareholders and partners who want UAE residence through the company they own, whether a mainland LLC, a free zone FZCO or a branch. It also covers the family members they will sponsor. If you are investing without owning a company, for example in property or an investment fund, the invest hub and the Golden Visa investor page are the right starting points.
The routes compared
| Route | Issuing authority | Threshold stated officially | Duration | Sponsor |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Investor residence (standard) | ICP (all emirates except Dubai files); GDRFA Dubai for Dubai companies | Contribution to the company of at least AED 1,000,000 (ICP service card) | Not stated on the card for this category; ICP FAQ says residence runs 1 to 3 years, extending to 5 or more for some categories such as investors | The company |
| Green residence: investor or partner | ICP (Green Residence Guide); GDRFA Dubai service card | Proof of investment or contribution with the necessary licences (ICP); Dubai card: share of at least AED 1,000,000 paid | 5 years, renewable | None (self-sponsored) |
| Golden Visa (Golden Residence): investor in public investments | ICP; GDRFA Dubai | Capital of AED 2 million (accredited fund deposit or company MOA capital), or an FTA letter confirming annual taxes of at least AED 250,000 | 10 years, automatic renewal | None |
| Free zone owner or partner visa | The free zone authority files with ICP or GDRFA Dubai | Set by the zone's allocation and office rules; no federal threshold stated | Per the residence type issued | The free zone company |
What the official pages require
ICP investor residence. The ICP residence service card states: "The investor's contribution to the company must not be less than AED 1,000,000 in cash or its equivalent in foreign currencies, whether at the time of establishing the company or when contributing to an existing company." If the capital consists of in-kind contributions, the Ministry of Economy evaluates the shares. Passport validity of at least six months and completion of residence procedures within 60 days of entry apply as for all residence types.
Green residence for investors and partners. The ICP Green Residence Guide requires "proof of investment or contribution to a business venture within the UAE" and the necessary licences and approvals. GDRFA Dubai's card adds that "the investor's or partner's share cannot be less than one million paid Dirhams or its equivalent" and lists the accepted legal forms: public shareholding company, private joint stock company, limited liability company, and the two partnership forms the card calls "simple recommendation company" and "solidarity company". Green residence is five years, self-sponsored, with the ability to sponsor family and a grace period of up to six months after expiry. Both Dubai Green cards carry the same instruction: do not cancel your current residence before the Green residence is issued.
Golden Visa public investor. The ICP Golden Residency Guide lists a valid commercial or industrial licence with an MOA showing capital of at least AED 2 million, or a letter from an accredited investment fund confirming a deposit of at least AED 2 million, or an FTA letter confirming annual taxes of at least AED 250,000. Details are on the Golden Visa investor page.
Documents and who issues them
| Document | Issued by | Route |
|---|---|---|
| Trade licence | The economic department or free zone authority | All routes |
| Partnership or investment agreement showing your share | Drafted by the partners; mainland MOA attested by the competent authority | ICP investor residence; Green investor or partner |
| MOA showing capital of at least AED 2 million, or accredited fund letter, or FTA tax letter | Competent authority; the fund; the FTA | Golden Visa public investor |
| Ministry of Economy valuation of in-kind shares | Ministry of Economy and Tourism | Where capital is in kind (ICP) |
| Passport valid at least six months; photograph | Your passport authority; you | All routes |
| Establishment card of the sponsoring company | ICP or GDRFA Dubai; free zone authority for zone companies | All company-sponsored routes |
| Medical fitness certificate | Approved medical centres (EHS, DHA, SEHA) | All routes, applicants aged 18 and above |
| Emirates ID application | ICP | All routes |
The sequence, from licence to Emirates ID
In text form, the dependencies run like this:
- Licence issued by the economic department or free zone authority.
- Establishment card opened with ICP or GDRFA Dubai (free zone companies through their authority); mainland employers also open the MOHRE file.
- Entry permit issued for the owner if outside the UAE, or a change of status inside the country (ICP fee AED 500) if already in the UAE on another visa. GDRFA Dubai cards list an entry permit fee of AED 200 plus VAT, plus AED 10 Knowledge Dirham and AED 10 Innovation Dirham, and an inside-country fee of AED 500.
- Entry and medical fitness test at an approved centre, then Emirates ID biometrics.
- Residence permit issued, linked to the Emirates ID. ICP requires all of this within 60 days of entry; overstaying costs AED 50 per day after any grace period.
- Family sponsorship once your residence is active and your income meets the threshold.
Official fees the pages state
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| ICP residence: application fee | AED 100 | ICP residence service card |
| ICP residence: issuance fee, per year | AED 100 | ICP residence service card |
| ICP residence: smart service fee | AED 100 | ICP residence service card |
| ICP change of status inside the country | AED 500 | ICP residence service card |
| ICP financial guarantee for the investor's family residency, per family member | AED 3,000 (maximum AED 15,000) | ICP residence service card |
| ICP Green residence issuance, per year of the 5-year duration | AED 100, plus application AED 100 and smart service AED 100 | ICP residence service card |
| GDRFA Dubai Green residence (investor or partner) entry permit | AED 200 plus VAT, plus AED 10 Knowledge Dirham and AED 10 Innovation Dirham; AED 500 if applying inside the country | GDRFA Dubai service card |
Sponsoring your family as a partner
Family sponsorship depends on the sponsor's residence and income rather than the company type. ICP requires a minimum monthly income of AED 3,000 plus employer-provided housing, or AED 4,000 without housing; u.ae and GDRFA Dubai state the same figures. In Dubai, a partner sponsoring family must hold a share of at least AED 48,000 as stated in the partnership agreement. A resident may sponsor a spouse, unmarried daughters, sons under 25 and children with special needs; Green residence holders may sponsor first-degree relatives. Dependants' residence cannot outlast the sponsor's, and if the sponsor's residence is cancelled the dependants have a six-month grace period to obtain a new one. The full rules are on the family visa page.
Timeline
ICP lists a service completion time of two days for the residence-permit issuance step; GDRFA Dubai cards list 48 hours for the Green residence step. No official page states an end-to-end time covering the establishment card, entry, medical and Emirates ID. Plan the owner's entry so that the 60-day completion window is not consumed by waiting for the establishment card.
Check before you apply
- Does your share in the partnership agreement or MOA reach AED 1,000,000, and is it paid or documented as ICP or GDRFA Dubai require?
- Is any part of the capital in kind? If so, the Ministry of Economy valuation comes first.
- Is the establishment card open? Nothing else can start without it.
- Are you already in the UAE on another visa? Use the change-of-status route rather than exiting; for Green residence, do not cancel the current residence first.
- If you plan to sponsor family, does your documented income meet AED 4,000 (or AED 3,000 plus housing), and in Dubai does your share reach AED 48,000?
- Which authority holds your file: GDRFA Dubai for Dubai companies, ICP for the other emirates?
Next step
Send us the company's licence type, your share as written in the MOA or partnership agreement, and whether you are inside or outside the UAE. A consultant will tell you which route the thresholds allow, what the authority will ask for and how to sequence the family applications. If your capital reaches AED 2 million, run the Golden Visa eligibility checker as well.
Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.
Frequently asked questions
Does owning a company automatically give me a residence visa?
No. The company sponsors you after its establishment card is opened, and the standard investor route requires a contribution of at least AED 1,000,000 under ICP's service card. Free zone companies issue owner visas under their own allocation rules.
What is the difference between the investor residence and the Green residence for investors?
The investor residence is sponsored by the company; the Green residence is self-sponsored for five years with family sponsorship rights and a six-month grace period. Both use a AED 1,000,000 figure in the ICP and GDRFA Dubai documents we read, but the Green residence is issued under the Green Residence Guide with its own document list.
Can a free zone company owner get a visa with less than AED 1,000,000 capital?
Free zone owner visas are issued under each zone's allocation rules, and no federal threshold is stated on the pages we read. IFZA, for example, states that it requires no paid-up capital and tiers its packages by visa allocation. Confirm the route with the zone before relying on it.
Do I have to be in the UAE to apply?
The entry permit is issued so that you can enter and complete the residence procedures within 60 days. If you are already in the UAE on another visa, ICP offers a change of status for AED 500 so you do not have to leave.
How long is the investor residence valid?
The ICP service card does not state a duration for the investor category; the ICP FAQ says residence permits run one, two or three years and may extend to five years or more for some categories such as investors. Green residence is five years; the Golden Visa public-investor route is ten.
Can my partner and I both get visas from one company?
Each partner applies on their own share. The ICP condition is per investor, and GDRFA Dubai's card refers to the investor's or partner's share, so each partner's share must meet the threshold for that route.
Official sources and review
The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.
- ICPIssuing residency permit — service card (investor, property-owner and family conditions)Checked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiGreen visa issuance — investor or partnerChecked 4 September 2026
- ICPGreen Residence GuideChecked 4 September 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Green visaChecked 4 September 2026
- ICPGolden Residency GuideChecked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiEntry visa for residence without work — family sponsorshipChecked 4 September 2026
- MOHREIssuance of establishment card — service cardChecked 4 September 2026
Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.
Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.
Confirm your visa route
Send us the licence type, your share as written in the MOA and whether you are inside the UAE. We will tell you which route the thresholds allow and what the authority will ask for.
No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.