Mainland company formation in the UAE: Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah
How a mainland licence is issued by DET in Dubai, ADDED in Abu Dhabi and SEDD in Sharjah: the nine official steps, licence types by emirate, the documents you hand in and who issues them, the establishment card, the Dubai branch licence for free zone companies, and the local service agent question answered honestly.
The short answer
A mainland company is one licensed directly by the government economic department of the emirate you set up in. In Dubai that is the Department of Economy and Tourism, or DET, which used to be called the DED (the Department of Economic Development). In Abu Dhabi it is ADDED, and in Sharjah it is SEDD. The big advantage of a mainland company is that it can sell to customers anywhere in the UAE, and for most activities you can own 100% of it with no local partner. Once your licence is issued, we open your company's immigration file so you can sponsor your own residence visa and your staff.
Choosing between a mainland company and a free zone is one of the most confusing early decisions, and getting it wrong is costly. We explain the difference in everyday words, tell you exactly which government fees apply, and take care of the filing so you are never left guessing what to do next.
How it works, step by step
- Step 1: Confirm your activity and structure
You tell us what the business will do and who your customers are. We confirm the activity is allowed on the mainland and whether it needs any extra approval.
- Step 2: Reserve your trade name
You choose a company name. We check it follows DET's naming rules so it is accepted the first time.
- Step 3: We get your initial approval and prepare the paperworkWe handle this
We obtain DET's initial approval, which is the government's no-objection, and draft your memorandum of association in Arabic as the law requires.
- Step 4: We arrange your office and issue the licenceWe handle this
We help you secure a registered address, submit the documents and pay the fees, then collect your trade licence.
- Step 5: We open your establishment card and labour fileWe handle this
We set up the immigration and MOHRE files your company needs before it can sponsor any visa.
- Step 6: We process your residence visa and Emirates IDWe handle this
We guide you through the entry permit, medical test and Emirates ID for you and your team.
Key facts
- Licensing authorities
- DET (Dubai), ADDED (Abu Dhabi), SEDD (Sharjah), Ajman DED, Umm Al Quwain DED, RAK DED, Fujairah Municipality (u.ae)
- Foreign ownership
- 100% for most activities; strategic-impact activities excepted (Decree-Law 26/2020, 32/2021)
- Licence categories
- Industrial, commercial, professional, tourism, agricultural, crafts (Ministry of Economy and Tourism); Dubai and Abu Dhabi add their own products
- Premises
- A physical address is required; in Dubai the lease is registered with Ejari
- Payment window
- Licence fees must be paid within 30 days of the payment voucher
- Visas
- No limit to the number of visas on the mainland (Ministry of Economy and Tourism)
- MOHRE establishment card
- Ta'qeem fee AED 406; completion two working days
What a mainland licence is
"Mainland" simply means a company licensed by the emirate's own government economic department, rather than by a free zone. In Dubai that department is the Department of Economy and Tourism (DET), known until recently as the Department of Economic Development (DED). The reason people choose mainland is freedom to trade: a mainland company can sell to any customer anywhere in the UAE, without the distributor or branch arrangements a free zone company needs to reach the local market. The Ministry of Economy and Tourism lists the mainland advantages as no limit on the number of visas, 100% ownership for all but a short list of strategic activities, and no requirement for a local service agent when a foreign company opens a branch.
The legal forms available are those in Article 9 of the Companies Law: general partnership, limited partnership, limited liability company, public joint stock company and private joint stock company. Most owner-managed businesses use the LLC, which may have from two to fifty partners or a single owner as a one-person company (Article 71). Sole professionals also use establishments licensed by the economic department, which are not companies under the Companies Law.
The nine official steps
The UAE Government portal, citing the Ministry of Economy and Tourism, sets out the mainland sequence as follows. We have added who acts at each step.
- Identify the business activity. The portal says there are more than 2,000 activities to choose from; the activity decides the licence type and any third-party approvals.
- Select the legal form. LLC, one-person company, establishment, partnership, joint stock company or branch.
- Apply for the trade licence with the economic department of the emirate.
- Register the trade name. It must be followed by the legal-form abbreviation (LLC, EST, PJSC, PrJSC), must not be offensive, must match the activity, must not use religious or government names and must not already be registered.
- Obtain initial approval. This confirms the government has no objection to the business being established. It does not permit trading. The portal states that foreign investors must obtain the approval of the General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs before the initial approval.
- Draft the memorandum of association and, where the authority requires it, a local service agent agreement (see the section below). Under Article 14 of the Companies Law a mainland MOA must be in Arabic and attested by the competent authority or it is void.
- Select a location. All businesses must have a physical address; in Dubai the lease is registered with Ejari.
- Obtain additional government approvals where the activity requires them: the portal's examples include the TDRA for telecoms, MOCCAE, the GCAA, the Central Bank, the Ministry of Economy for auditing and foreign branches, MOHRE for manpower supply, the SCA, the Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure, MoIAT and the National Media Council.
- Submit the documents and pay. Licence fees must be paid within 30 days of receiving the payment voucher.
The portal adds that the Basher platform lets eligible investors establish a business online in 15 minutes. That figure describes the platform's own process, not the third-party approvals or the immigration steps that follow.
Documents for licence collection and who issues them
| Document | Issued or attested by | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Initial approval receipt | The economic department (DET, ADDED, SEDD) | Proof the no-objection stage is complete. |
| Attested lease contract | Landlord, registered with Ejari in Dubai; RERA attestation noted on u.ae | Every mainland business needs a physical address. |
| Attested memorandum of association | Drafted by the partners, attested by the competent authority; Arabic text required | Article 14 of the Companies Law: an unattested MOA is void. |
| Additional government approvals | The sector regulator named for the activity | Only where the activity is regulated. |
| Attested service agent contract | UAE-national agent, attested | Listed on u.ae only for civil establishments and companies wholly owned by non-GCC nationals; see the conflict note below. |
| Passport copies and GDRFA approval for foreign partners | Passport authority; GDRFA | The portal states GDRFA approval precedes initial approval for foreign investors. |
The local service agent question, answered honestly
Two pages on the same government portal say different things. The foreign-ownership page states that Decree-Law 26/2020 eliminated "the obligation for branches of foreign companies to appoint a UAE national service agent". The mainland steps page still says that "businesses owned completely by non-GCC residents require a local service agent" and lists an attested service-agent contract "for civil establishments and companies that are 100 per cent owned by non-GCC nationals".
Our reading is that the branch requirement has been removed by law, while the treatment of civil and professional establishments is decided by each emirate's economic department in practice. We do not publish a blanket rule either way. Before you sign anything, ask the licensing authority in writing whether your activity and legal form need an agent, and keep the answer with your licence file.
Capital and legal forms
The Ministry of Economy and Tourism states that the Companies Law fixes a minimum capital of AED 30 million for a public joint stock company and AED 5 million for a private joint stock company, and "did not specify a minimum capital" for other company types. ADDED states there is no minimum capital requirement for most activities in Abu Dhabi. A foreign company that wants a mainland presence without a new company can open a branch, which needs a licence from the competent authority with Ministry approval and an entry in the Ministry's foreign companies register (Articles 336 and 337).
After the licence: establishment cards and visas
The licence lets you trade. To sponsor residence visas you need the company's immigration file, the establishment card, with ICP or with GDRFA Dubai for Dubai companies, and a MOHRE establishment file if the company employs staff under the Labour Law. MOHRE's service card requires a valid trade licence, a copy of the ICP establishment card, an approved rental contract (immediate licences excepted) and personal identification numbers for owners, partners and authorised signatories. The signatory must also be authorised with ICP. GCC citizens are treated as UAE nationals for this purpose. MOHRE lists a Ta'qeem fee of AED 406, a business-centre commission of up to AED 72, and completion in two working days; applying through the MOHRE website or app is free apart from government fees.
The owner's own residence then follows one of the routes on the investor and partner visa page. Staff residence visas run through MOHRE work permits and the Work Bundle. MOHRE's transfer work permit card lists two-year fees of AED 250, AED 1,200 and AED 3,450 by establishment category plus an AED 50 permit fee, and notes that workers earning less than AED 4,000 a month or without a degree are not classed as skilled.
Free zone companies operating in Dubai: Resolution 11/2025
Dubai Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025 regulates free zone establishments that want to conduct activities in Dubai outside their zone. It does not apply to financial establishments licensed in the DIFC. The routes are a DET licence for a branch within the emirate (Article 5), a DET licence for a branch in the free zone that operates in the emirate (Article 6), or a temporary permit valid for no more than six months (Article 7). Article 12 sets the fee at AED 10,000 per year to issue or renew a branch licence and AED 5,000 to issue or renew a temporary permit. The establishment must keep separate financial records for its mainland activity (Article 3) and may use its existing free zone workforce (Article 8).
Official fees the pages state
Licence fees themselves vary by emirate, legal form and activity, and the pages we checked do not publish a single figure; SEDD offers a fee calculator. The official fees that are stated are below.
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| MOHRE establishment card: Ta'qeem fee | AED 406 | MOHRE service card |
| MOHRE establishment card: business-centre commission | Up to AED 72 (free via MOHRE website or app apart from government fees) | MOHRE service card |
| MOHRE transfer work permit, two years, by category | AED 250 / AED 1,200 / AED 3,450, plus AED 50 permit fee | MOHRE service card |
| DET branch licence for a free zone establishment (issue or renew) | AED 10,000 per year | Dubai Executive Council Resolution 11/2025, Article 12 |
| DET temporary permit for a free zone establishment (issue or renew) | AED 5,000 | Dubai Executive Council Resolution 11/2025, Article 12 |
| Mainland trade licence fee | Not stated on the pages read; varies by emirate and activity | u.ae; SEDD fee calculator |
Timeline
No official page states an end-to-end time for a mainland formation. The figures that are stated are the Basher platform's 15 minutes for online establishment of eligible businesses, two working days for the MOHRE establishment card, and two days for ICP's residence-issuance step. Third-party approvals, MOA attestation, Ejari registration and bank onboarding are not quantified anywhere official.
Check before you apply
- Is your activity on the strategic-impact list or on Dubai's foreign-ownership restrictions list? If so, ask the economic department what national shareholding it requires.
- Does the activity need a third-party approval before initial approval? Regulated activities take longer and the regulator may set its own premises or capital rules.
- Have you asked the authority in writing whether your legal form needs a local service agent?
- Is the premises lease in the company's name and registrable with Ejari (Dubai) or the equivalent system in your emirate?
- Will the authorised signatory be available for both the MOHRE and ICP authorisations? Both files need the same person recognised.
- Have you diarised the FTA corporate tax registration deadline that applies to your licence date?
Next step
If your customers are in the UAE, mainland is usually the answer and the open questions are the emirate, the legal form and the activity approvals. Send us those three items and a consultant will confirm the authority, the document list and the sequence for your case. If you are still deciding between mainland and a free zone, start with the comparison page.
Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a UAE national partner for a mainland company?
For most activities, no. Decree-Law 26/2020 removed the 51% Emirati ownership requirement, and the Ministry of Economy and Tourism lists 100% ownership "with the exception of activities with a strategic impact". For those activities the competent authority may set a national shareholding ratio.
What is the difference between DET, DED and Dubai Economy?
They are the same Dubai authority under different names. The current name is the Dubai Department of Economy and Tourism (DET); "DED" and "Dubai Economy" are older names that still appear on documents and websites.
Can I get the licence before I rent an office?
The u.ae steps place location selection before licence collection and state that all businesses must have a physical address. Some licence products, such as Abu Dhabi's virtual licence or Dubai's instant licence, have different premises rules; check the product you are applying for with the authority.
How many visas can a mainland company get?
The Ministry of Economy and Tourism states there is no limit to the number of visas on the mainland. In practice each visa still needs a MOHRE work permit and ICP or GDRFA approval, and the establishment card must be in place first.
Can my free zone company open a Dubai mainland branch instead of a new LLC?
Yes. Dubai Executive Council Resolution 11/2025 lets a free zone establishment obtain a DET branch licence (AED 10,000 per year) or a temporary permit of up to six months (AED 5,000), with separate financial records for the mainland activity. DIFC-licensed financial establishments are outside this resolution.
Does a mainland company pay corporate tax?
Yes. All businesses under a commercial licence are within scope: 0% on taxable income up to AED 375,000 and 9% above it, with registration and a return within nine months of the end of each tax period. See the corporate tax and VAT page.
Official sources and review
The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Steps to start a business on the mainlandChecked 4 September 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Full foreign ownership of commercial companiesChecked 4 September 2026
- UAE Legislation portalFederal Decree-Law No. 32 of 2021 on Commercial CompaniesChecked 4 September 2026
- Ministry of Economy and TourismThe advantages of licensing in departments of economic development and in free zonesChecked 4 September 2026
- Abu Dhabi Department of Economic Development (ADDED)Licensing requirementsChecked 4 September 2026
- Sharjah Economic Development Department (SEDD)SEDD servicesChecked 4 September 2026
- MOHREIssuance of establishment card — service cardChecked 4 September 2026
- Dubai Legislation PortalExecutive Council Resolution No. (11) of 2025 regulating the conduct of free zone establishments' activities in DubaiChecked 4 September 2026
Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.
Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.
Confirm your mainland route
Send us the activity, the emirate and the legal form you have in mind. We will tell you which authority licenses it, which approvals it needs and whether the service agent question applies.
No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.