Skip to content
ImmigrationUAEVisas · Residency · Business
Start a business · Company files

Establishment card in the UAE: what it is, who issues it, fees and documents

What a UAE establishment card is, the three cards a company may need (ICP immigration file, GDRFA Dubai immigration file, MOHRE labour file), who issues each, the official fees and fines on the ICP, GDRFA Dubai and MOHRE service cards, the documents, and the 9 February 2026 MOHRE automatic-issue change.

Last reviewed
Checked against official UAE sources · re-reviewed every 60 days

The short answer

An establishment card is the electronic registration that links your company to the immigration and labour systems so it can sponsor visas and work permits. A mainland company needs two: the ICP establishment card (immigration file) and the MOHRE establishment card (labour file). Dubai companies open the immigration file with GDRFA Dubai instead of ICP. Free-zone companies get their card through the free zone authority. Without the cards, no residence visa or work permit can be filed under the company.

Key facts

ICP card (all emirates except Dubai)
AED 100 application + AED 100 per year + AED 2,000 e-system subscription (ICP service card)
GDRFA Dubai card
AED 200 + 5% VAT + AED 10 Knowledge + AED 10 Innovation + AED 50 service fee; AED 100 per year issue or renewal (GDRFA service card)
MOHRE card
Ta'qeem fee AED 406, excluding tax and collection charges (MOHRE service card)
Order
Open the ICP (or GDRFA Dubai) card first; MOHRE asks for a copy of it showing owners and signatories
Completion times stated
ICP two days; MOHRE two working days; GDRFA Dubai 48 hours
ICP late renewal
AED 100 per month beyond 30 days, capped at AED 1,000

The three cards and who issues them

Official service cards fetched 17 October 2026.
CardIssuerWho needs itCore feeSource
Immigration establishment card (all emirates except Dubai)ICPMainland and some free-zone companies, via authorised service providersAED 100 application + AED 100 per year + AED 2,000 e-system subscriptionICP service card
Immigration establishment card (Dubai)GDRFA DubaiDubai mainland companies and institutionsAED 200 + 5% VAT + AED 10 + AED 10 + AED 50 service fee; AED 100 per year issue or renewalGDRFA service card
Labour establishment cardMOHREEvery employer registered with MOHRETa'qeem fee AED 406 (excluding tax and collection charges)MOHRE service card

How to get the ICP establishment card

  1. Make sure the trade licence is valid and that at least one authorised signatory holds a valid Emirates ID or a unified number. ICP will not start the application without one.
  2. Apply through an authorised service provider (typing centre or PRO), which ICP requires for the initial approval and the card issuance. Free-zone companies apply through their zone.
  3. Log in with UAE Pass, upload the documents listed below and pay the fees.
  4. ICP lists two days as the completion time. The card is electronic.
  5. Diary the expiry. Renewal more than 30 days late costs AED 100 per month, capped at AED 1,000.

How to get the MOHRE establishment card

  1. Open the ICP (or GDRFA Dubai) card first. MOHRE asks for a copy of it showing owners and signatories.
  2. Log in to MOHRE with UAE Pass, enter the company details and attach the documents.
  3. Pay the Ta'qeem fee. The service completes in two working days.
  4. Since February 2026 MOHRE says the card is processed automatically once the request is submitted to the economic department, with no customer visit.

How to get the GDRFA Dubai establishment card

  1. Log in to GDRFA Dubai smart services with UAE Pass or a username, or visit an Amer centre (Amer adds AED 100).
  2. Upload the partners' names appendix, passport copies of the authorised signatories and, for a manager, a notarised authorisation.
  3. Pay the fees. GDRFA lists 48 hours as the expected completion time.

What you need

For ICP: board resolution, an official letter to ICP requesting the file opening signed by the chairman or authorised representative, a signature authorisation letter, the trade licence (for an LLC, the copy showing stakeholders) and the memorandum of association for partnerships.

For MOHRE: Emirates ID or residence visa showing the unified number for each expatriate signatory, the licence showing activity and address, the partners addendum if the owners are not on the licence, the ICP establishment card copy and an approved tenancy contract (not needed for immediate licences).

For GDRFA Dubai: the partners appendix, signatory passport copies and any notarised authorisation.

Official fees and fines

ICP, GDRFA Dubai and MOHRE service cards fetched 17 October 2026. Free-zone establishment cards follow each zone's own fee schedule, which is not stated here.
ItemAmountSource
ICP application feeAED 100ICP
ICP issuance or renewal feeAED 100 per yearICP
ICP e-system subscription (new) / renewalAED 2,000 / AED 1,000ICP
ICP smart service fee on renewalAED 100ICP
ICP tourism establishments: depositAED 75,000 plus AED 1,000 system deposit and AED 20 deposit feeICP
ICP late renewal (after 30 days)AED 100 per month, up to AED 1,000ICP
ICP change of company data without noticeAED 1,000ICP
ICP breach of instructions / misuse of smart servicesAED 2,000 eachICP
ICP permits issued for a company with no activityAED 20,000ICP
GDRFA Dubai cardAED 200 + 5% VAT + AED 10 + AED 10 + AED 50GDRFA
GDRFA Dubai urgent fee / Amer centre feeAED 100 / AED 100GDRFA
MOHRE Ta'qeem feeAED 406MOHRE

Changes in 2026

On 9 February 2026 MOHRE announced that its establishment card is now issued automatically when the request is submitted to the Department of Economic Development, and that establishment file updates take effect immediately after the data is updated at the economic department.

Immigration UAE is an independent private immigration and business services platform and is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.

Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need the establishment card before hiring anyone?

Yes. Work permits and residence visas are filed under the company's MOHRE and immigration files, which the cards create.

Is the card physical?

ICP describes it as an electronic card holding the registered company data.

Who must be the authorised signatory?

MOHRE requires the person authorised at MOHRE to also be the authorised signatory at ICP, so appoint the same person on both files.

What happens if the card expires?

ICP charges AED 100 for each month of delay beyond 30 days, up to AED 1,000, and the company cannot process visas until it renews and clears fines.

Does a free-zone company apply to ICP directly?

ICP says the request must go through the free zone authority the company belongs to.

Official sources and review

The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 60 days and after any announced change.

Last reviewed

Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.

Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.

Need help with the next step?

If your trade licence is issued and the next step is the immigration file, the MOHRE file and the first investor or employee visa, tell us the emirate and licence type and we will map the order.

No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.

Two ways to talk

Message now and an advisor replies during office hours (Monday to Saturday, 9:00–19:00 (GST)), or pick a time that suits you.