Skip to content
ImmigrationUAEVisas · Residency · Business
Invest · Dubai property

Dubai property and residency: the routes from ownership to a residence visa

The two official routes from Dubai property ownership to residence: the AED 2 million Golden Visa on a Dubai Land Department letter and the property-owner residence on the ICP service card, compared on the same criteria, with the sequence, the checks to make before you buy and the points the official pages do not state.

Last reviewed
Checked against official UAE sources · re-reviewed every 30 days

The short answer

Owning Dubai property can lead to residence by two official routes. Property valued at AED 2 million or more, held without loans, supports a 5-year Golden Visa (Golden Residence) on a letter from the land registration department, which in Dubai is the Dubai Land Department. A completed, registered and fully owned home that is suitable for residence supports a property-owner residence if you have a monthly income of at least AED 10,000 or can prove solvency; the ICP card does not state its duration or a minimum value. In both cases the application is decided on documents, so the checks before you buy are the checks the authority will make.

Key facts

Golden route threshold
One or more properties valued at AED 2 million or more, without loans (ICP Golden Residency Guide)
Golden route evidence
A letter from the land registration department confirming ownership and value; in Dubai, the Dubai Land Department
Golden route duration
5 years for real-estate investments (ICP guide, u.ae table); renewable; no sponsor
Property-owner residence conditions
Fully constructed (no vacant land); registered with the competent authority; fully owned by the applicant; suitable for residence; income of AED 10,000 a month or proven solvency
Property-owner residence duration and value
Not stated on the ICP card read; GDRFA Dubai lists a renewal service for this permit
Where to apply for Dubai files
GDRFA Dubai; ICP for property registered in other emirates

Two routes, not one

People searching for a "Dubai property visa" usually find a single figure. The official pages describe two distinct categories. The first is the real-estate investor category of the Golden Visa, run under the ICP Golden Residency Guide (updated 20 August 2026) and mirrored on the UAE Government portal. The second is the property-owner residence listed on the ICP residence service card, a standard residence type with its own conditions and no stated link to the AED 2 million figure. They are applied for differently, last for different periods and carry different rights, so decide which one you are aiming at before you sign a sale agreement.

The two routes compared

Compiled from the ICP Golden Residency Guide, the u.ae Golden visa page and the ICP residence service card, checked 4 September 2026.
CriterionGolden Visa: real-estate investorProperty-owner residence
Property valueAED 2 million or more, one or more properties, confirmed by the registration letterNot stated on the ICP card
Financing"Without loans" (ICP guide); mortgaged and off-plan acceptance not statedNot stated; the property must be fully owned by the applicant
Condition of the propertyNot stated beyond ownership and valueFully constructed; vacant land excluded; suitable for residence
Income requirementNone statedMonthly income of at least AED 10,000, or proof of financial solvency throughout the residence
Duration5 years, renewable, automatic renewal per ICPNot stated on the ICP card; renewal service exists at GDRFA Dubai
Sponsor and familyNo sponsor; can sponsor spouse and childrenStandard residence conditions; family sponsorship subject to the ICP income test
Absence from the UAEExempt from the six-month rule; may enter any time while validSubject to the 180-day rule unless an exception applies
Official fees statedICP card: application AED 100, issuance AED 100 per year, smart service AED 100; family guarantee AED 3,000 per member up to AED 15,000ICP card: application AED 100, issuance AED 100 per year, smart service AED 100; GDRFA Dubai fees differ

What the Dubai Land Department letter is

The ICP guide's document list for the real-estate investor category is "a letter from the Land Registration Department confirming ownership of one or more properties valued at AED 2 million or more, without loans". The land registration department for Dubai property is the Dubai Land Department (DLD), which holds the title register and issues title deeds. The letter is therefore the registry's own confirmation of three things: that the property is registered in your name, what value the registry records for it, and that no loan is registered against it. It is not a valuation you commission and not a developer's statement. Because the letter is the core evidence, two practical questions decide the application before you apply: which value figure the registry will place on the letter, purchase price or another figure, and whether a single letter can cover several titles when you are combining properties to reach AED 2 million. Ask the registry both questions in writing.

The sequence from purchase to residence

  1. Complete the purchase and register the title in your own name at the Dubai Land Department. Until the title is registered, there is nothing to certify.
  2. Confirm the category using the ICP eligibility check, or GDRFA Dubai for a Dubai file, so you know whether you are applying as a Golden real-estate investor or for the property-owner residence.
  3. Request the registration letter (Golden route) or assemble the title deed and income evidence (property-owner route).
  4. Apply: Golden files through ICP smart services or GDRFA Dubai; ICP service cards also describe a six-month multiple-entry permit for finalising Golden residence from outside the UAE, extendable once.
  5. Enter and complete the residence formalities: medical fitness test, Emirates ID biometrics and residence issuance within 60 days of entry.
  6. Sponsor family once your residence is issued; for the Golden route, ICP lists a financial guarantee of AED 3,000 per family member, capped at AED 15,000.

Property in the retirement route

Property also appears in the retirement residence. u.ae accepts property of at least AED 1 million together with savings of at least AED 1 million as one of the financial tests, alongside the age and service conditions; the ICP card accepts property worth AED 1 million or a deposit of the same value in a UAE financial institution within 60 days of residence issuance. The two official pages differ on the annual-income alternative (AED 180,000 on u.ae, AED 240,000 on the ICP card and for Dubai) and on whether the 15-year and age-55 tests are cumulative. If you are 55 or over and the AED 2 million Golden threshold is out of reach, this route is worth checking on the invest hub before you decide what to buy.

Check before you buy

  • Will the title be registered in your own name, not a company's, a spouse's or a nominee's? Both routes turn on the applicant's own ownership.
  • Is the property completed? The property-owner residence excludes vacant land and requires a home suitable for residence; the Golden route's treatment of off-plan property is not stated.
  • Is there a mortgage? The Golden route says "without loans". If you need financing, get a written answer from the authority before relying on the Golden route.
  • Will the registry's letter show AED 2 million or more, and on what basis? Ask the Dubai Land Department which figure it certifies.
  • Can several titles be combined on one letter? The ICP guide says "one or more properties"; confirm the registry's practice.
  • Which office holds your file? Dubai property files go through GDRFA Dubai; property in other emirates goes through ICP, and the fee cards differ.
  • Do you meet the AED 10,000 monthly income or solvency test if you are aiming at the property-owner residence rather than the Golden route?

What the official pages do not state

  • A 10-year Golden Visa for property investors. Both official pages say 5 years.
  • Whether off-plan or mortgaged property qualifies for the Golden route.
  • The duration and minimum property value of the property-owner residence. The AED 750,000 and two-year figures on private sites are not on the pages we read.
  • Whether residence continues if the property is sold. Treat continued ownership as the safe assumption.
  • An end-to-end processing time. The ICP card lists two days for the residence-issuance step only.

Next step

If you already own or are about to complete on Dubai property, run the Golden Visa eligibility checker, then send us the registered value, whether the property is financed and whether it is completed. A consultant will tell you which route the documents support and which questions to put to the Dubai Land Department and GDRFA Dubai before you apply. The property investor page has the full document table for the Golden route.

Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.

Frequently asked questions

How much property do I need to buy in Dubai to get a visa?

For the Golden Visa real-estate investor route, property valued at AED 2 million or more, without loans, on a land registration letter. For the property-owner residence, the ICP card sets conditions on the property and an income test of AED 10,000 a month but does not state a minimum value. Figures such as AED 750,000 come from private sites, not the official pages we read.

Is the Dubai property Golden Visa 10 years?

The ICP Golden Residency Guide and the u.ae table both state 5 years for real-estate investments; 10 years applies to public investments. We publish the official figure and recommend confirming your own case with the ICP eligibility tool or GDRFA Dubai.

Can I use a mortgage?

The ICP guide states the property must be held "without loans" for the Golden route. Whether a partly financed property qualifies is not stated. For the property-owner residence the card says the property must be fully owned by the applicant. Get a written answer from the authority before relying on financed property.

Does off-plan property count?

The official pages we read do not say for the Golden route. The property-owner residence excludes vacant land and requires a fully constructed home. Do not rely on an off-plan purchase for either route without written confirmation.

Do I have to live in Dubai to keep the visa?

Golden holders are exempt from the six-month absence rule and may enter at any time while the residence is valid. Holders of the property-owner residence are subject to the 180-day rule unless an exception on the u.ae general provisions page applies.

Can I combine two apartments to reach AED 2 million?

The ICP guide says "one or more properties valued at AED 2 million or more", so combined holdings are contemplated. Confirm with the Dubai Land Department that one letter can cover several titles.

What happens to the visa if I sell the property?

The official pages we read do not address disposal after issuance. Treat continued ownership as the condition and take advice before selling.

Official sources and review

The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.

Last reviewed

Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.

Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.

Have your property route reviewed

Send us the registered value, whether the property is financed and whether it is completed. We will tell you which route the documents support and what to ask the Dubai Land Department and GDRFA Dubai first.

No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.