UAE multiple-entry visit visas, including the 5-year tourist visa
What the official pages state about UAE multiple-entry visit visas: the 5-year multiple-entry tourist visa for all nationalities (USD 4,000 bank balance, 90 days per visit, 180 days a year), multiple-entry relative or friend visas, ICP per-month pricing and the GDRFA Dubai card totals.
The short answer
There are two ways to enter the UAE repeatedly on a visit basis. A multiple-entry visit or tourist visa is sponsored like a single-entry one and priced by ICP at AED 200 per month with a AED 2,000 guarantee. The 5-year multiple-entry tourist visa is self-sponsored and open to all nationalities: you show a bank balance of USD 4,000 over the last six months, health insurance valid for 180 days and an onward ticket, and you may stay 90 days per visit, extendable once for 90, up to 180 days in a year.
Key facts
- 5-year tourist visa: who
- All nationalities, on self-sponsorship (u.ae)
- 5-year tourist visa: stay
- 90 days per visit, extendable for a further 90; total in a year not more than 180 days (GDRFA Dubai; ICP FAQ)
- 5-year tourist visa: proof
- USD 4,000 or equivalent bank balance during the last six months; UAE health insurance valid 180 days; continuing or return ticket (u.ae)
- 5-year tourist visa: Dubai card total
- AED 3,713.5 including a AED 3,000 guarantee (GDRFA Dubai)
- Multiple-entry visit permit (ICP)
- AED 200 per month; guarantee AED 2,000; application AED 100; smart service AED 100
- Multiple-entry relative/friend (Dubai)
- AED 300 / 500 / 700 plus VAT for 30 / 60 / 90 days; guarantee AED 2,000
Who multiple-entry visas are for
Multiple-entry visas suit people who travel to the UAE repeatedly within a short period: regional business travellers, family members who visit several times a year, and people who use the UAE as a base between trips. The 5-year tourist visa goes further. It removes the need for a sponsor and, on the u.ae wording, "can be issued for all nationalities", which makes it the main long-horizon visit option for passports that do not receive a visa on arrival.
Neither option is a route to residence. If you intend to live or work in the UAE, read Live in the UAE.
Single entry, multiple entry and the 5-year visa compared
| Feature | Single-entry tourist or visit visa | Multiple-entry visit or tourist visa | 5-year multiple-entry tourist visa |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sponsor | Tourism establishment, airline, hotel or resident sponsor | Same sponsor types | None (self-sponsored) |
| Nationalities | Those not eligible for visa on arrival or visa-free entry | Same | All nationalities (u.ae) |
| Stay per visit | 30 or 60 days (tourist); 30, 60 or 90 days (relative/friend) | Airline tables list 30 and 60 days; ICP prices per month | 90 days, extendable once for 90 |
| Annual cap | Not stated beyond the extension cap | Not stated beyond the extension cap | 180 days in a year (GDRFA Dubai; ICP FAQ) |
| Extension cap | 120 days total (tourist); 180 days (relative/friend) | Same caps by permit type | Once, for a similar period, within the 180-day year |
| ICP guarantee | AED 1,000 | AED 2,000 | Not on the ICP visa card; Dubai card lists AED 3,000 |
| Financial proof from the traveller | Not stated | Not stated | USD 4,000 bank balance over the last six months |
| Validity to enter | 60 days from issue | 60 days from issue | 5 years |
The 5-year tourist visa conditions as stated
The u.ae tourist page lists three requirements: "a bank balance of 4,000 USD or its equivalent in foreign currencies during the last six months; a valid health insurance policy applicable in the UAE, valid for 180 days; a ticket showing continuing or return journey." ICP offers the service through two cards, one for an individual and one for a family group. GDRFA Dubai's card adds the stay rule: "Remain in the country continuously for no longer than (90) days; this period may be extended for a similar amount of time as long as the total number of days spent there in a year is at most (180)."
The official pages do not state a minimum income, an age limit or a nationality exclusion for this visa. They also do not say how "a year" is counted; whether it runs from first entry or by calendar year is not stated, so plan against the stricter reading.
Documents for the 5-year visa and who issues them
| Document | Issued by |
|---|---|
| Bank statement showing USD 4,000 or equivalent over the last six months | Your bank |
| Health insurance policy valid in the UAE for 180 days | Insurer |
| Continuing or return ticket | Airline |
| Passport valid for at least six months | Your passport authority |
| Photograph | You |
Official fees stated
GDRFA Dubai publishes a full breakdown for the 5-year visa: application fee AED 100; issuance fee AED 500; guarantee amount AED 3,000; warranty service fee AED 21; collection and return AED 20; Knowledge Dirham AED 10; Innovation Dirham AED 10; service fee AED 52.5; total AED 3,713.5. The guarantee is the largest part and is a deposit rather than a charge. For multiple-entry visit permits, the ICP card lists AED 200 per month plus AED 100 application and AED 100 smart-service fees and a AED 2,000 guarantee. GDRFA Dubai's multiple-entry relative or friend card lists AED 300, 500 or 700 plus VAT with a AED 2,000 guarantee.
How the 5-year visa application runs
- Prepare six months of bank statements showing the USD 4,000 balance throughout the period.
- Buy insurance valid in the UAE for 180 days.
- Apply through ICP smart services (individual or family-group card) or GDRFA Dubai.
- Pay the fees and lodge the guarantee.
- Travel as often as you like within five years, keeping each stay to 90 days and the year to 180 days.
- Extend inside the UAE once per visit if needed, before the 90 days run out.
Check before you apply
- Was the USD 4,000 balance present throughout the last six months, not just on the statement date?
- Does your insurance name the UAE and run for 180 days?
- Have you counted your planned trips against the 180-day annual limit?
- If a relative will visit often, is the multiple-entry relative visa (sponsored) a simpler fit than the 5-year visa (self-sponsored)?
- For Dubai files, have you allowed for the AED 3,000 guarantee in the card total?
Next step
Send us your nationality, how many trips you expect in a year and whether anyone in the UAE can sponsor you. We will tell you which of the two multiple-entry routes the official pages support for your pattern of travel.
Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.
Frequently asked questions
Is the 5-year UAE tourist visa open to every nationality?
The u.ae tourist page states that this type of tourist visa can be issued for all nationalities. No exclusion is stated on the pages we checked.
How long can I stay on the 5-year tourist visa?
90 days per visit, extendable for a similar period, and no more than 180 days in a year, according to the GDRFA Dubai card and the ICP FAQ.
How much money do I need in the bank?
USD 4,000 or its equivalent during the last six months, per the u.ae tourist page.
Can I work on a 5-year tourist visa?
It is a tourist visa. Working requires a MOHRE work permit and a residence process. See UAE residence visa.
Does the 5-year visa lead to residence?
The official pages do not link it to any residence category. Residence routes are described under Live in the UAE.
What does a multiple-entry visit visa cost through ICP?
The ICP Issuance of a Visa card lists AED 200 per month for multiple entry, plus AED 100 application and AED 100 smart-service fees, and a refundable AED 2,000 guarantee.
Official sources and review
The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Tourist visaChecked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiIssuing a multi-entry tourist visa (5 years)Checked 4 September 2026
- ICPICP frequently asked questionsChecked 4 September 2026
- ICPIssuance of a Visa — service card (all entry-permit types)Checked 4 September 2026
- ICPVisa Extension — service cardChecked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiMulti-entry visa for a relative or friendChecked 4 September 2026
Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.
Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.
Frequent traveller to the UAE?
Tell us your nationality and expected trips per year. We will say which multiple-entry route the official pages support for you.
No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.