Skip to content
ImmigrationUAEVisas · Residency · Business
Golden Visa · Entrepreneurs

UAE Golden Visa for entrepreneurs: the revenue and sold-venture routes on the current ICP guide

The entrepreneur Golden Visa as the ICP Golden Residency Guide states it on 10 September 2026: a UAE-registered SME with annual revenue of at least AED 1,000,000, or a founder whose sold ventures total at least AED 7,000,000, with approval of the venture idea from an accredited incubator or a listed authority. Why the AED 500,000 project route you may have read about is no longer on the official page.

Last reviewed
Checked against official UAE sources · re-reviewed every 30 days

The short answer

On the current ICP Golden Residency Guide (updated 10 September 2026) the entrepreneur Golden Visa has two routes: own a UAE-registered small or medium enterprise with annual revenue of at least AED 1,000,000, or be the founder of one or more ventures previously sold for a total of at least AED 7,000,000; in both cases the venture idea needs approval from an accredited business incubator or another authority the guide lists, and you and your family need valid health insurance when you apply. The guide now lists the category at 10 years; the UAE Government portal still says 5. The older AED 500,000 project route with an auditor's letter no longer appears on the ICP page.

Key facts

Duration
10 years on the ICP guide (10 Sep 2026); 5 years on u.ae (28 Jul 2026)
Route 1: operating SME
Entrepreneurial venture registered in the UAE, classified as an SME, with annual revenue of at least AED 1,000,000 (ICP guide, verbatim)
Route 2: sold ventures
Founder of one or more ventures previously sold, total value at least AED 7,000,000 (ICP guide, verbatim)
Approval
Approval of the venture idea from an accredited business incubator or another authority listed on the guide
Health insurance
Comprehensive, valid cover for the entrepreneur and family at the time of applying (ICP guide)
Previous rule
Project worth at least AED 500,000 confirmed by an auditor's letter: not on the ICP page as read 17 Oct 2026
Sponsor
None; holder may sponsor spouse and children

What changed in October 2026

Checked 17 October 2026. The ICP Golden Residency Guide was re-published on 10 September 2026. For entrepreneurs it now reads very differently from the version we reviewed on 4 September:

  • The requirement is now an operating UAE-registered SME with annual revenue of at least AED 1,000,000, or founder of sold ventures worth at least AED 7,000,000 in total.
  • The venture idea needs approval from an accredited business incubator or another authority the guide names; the earlier "innovative, technology-based or future-oriented" letter is no longer the wording.
  • The AED 500,000 project value confirmed by an auditor, which most private websites still quote, is not on the page.
  • Health insurance for the applicant and family is now an explicit condition.
  • The category is listed at 10 years; u.ae (28 July 2026) still shows 5 years for entrepreneurs.

If you were preparing an auditor's letter for a AED 500,000 project, pause and check the current guide with us before you spend on it. We will update this page again when u.ae and ICP agree.

Two official pages currently disagree on the entrepreneur duration and only one (ICP) lists the revenue and sold-venture thresholds. We publish what each page says and the date we read it; we do not fill the gap with a guess.

Who this category is for

The ICP guide (10 September 2026) describes the category in two routes: an entrepreneurial venture "registered in the UAE, classified as a small or medium enterprise, with annual revenue of at least AED 1,000,000", or "the founder of one or more entrepreneurial ventures previously sold" for a total of at least AED 7,000,000. Both routes rest on approval of the venture idea from an accredited business incubator or another authority the guide lists. It is written for founders whose venture is trading and earning, or who have already sold one. It is not a general business-owner visa; a trading company with a licence but no incubator approval does not fit the wording, and a company with AED 2 million capital fits the public-investor category better.

For a founder without AED 2 million of capital, this is the only Golden route that recognises the venture itself rather than the founder's personal wealth or salary. ICP lists it at 10 years; u.ae still shows 5.

Evidence for each route

ICP Golden Residency Guide (updated 10 Sep 2026), checked 17 Oct 2026.
RouteWhat the guide requires (ICP wording)EvidenceWhat the guide leaves open
1. Operating SMEA UAE-registered venture classified as an SME with annual revenue of at least AED 1,000,000Revenue evidence: the guide does not name a document. Audited accounts or FTA filings are the natural evidence; we say 'not stated' rather than guessWhich body classifies the venture as an SME and over which period the revenue is measured are not stated
2. Sold venturesFounder of one or more entrepreneurial ventures previously sold, total value at least AED 7,000,000Sale evidence: the guide does not name a document. Sale agreements and transfer records are the natural evidenceWhether the sold ventures must have been UAE-registered is not stated
Both routesApproval of the venture ideaApproval letter from an accredited business incubator or another authority listed on the guideThe guide does not publish the list of accredited incubators
Both routesComprehensive, valid health insurance for the entrepreneur and familyInsurance policyMinimum cover is not stated
Because the guide does not publish a list of accredited incubators, ask the incubator or authority you approach to confirm in writing that its approval is accepted by ICP or GDRFA Dubai for the Golden Residence entrepreneur category. GDRFA Dubai publishes a separate renewal card for entrepreneurs, which shows the category is processed in Dubai as well.

Documents and who issues them

Documents named on the official ICP pages as checked on 17 Oct 2026. The auditor's letter confirming a project value of at least AED 500,000 is no longer on the guide.
DocumentIssued byNotes
Revenue or sale evidence for your routeYour company's auditor, the FTA, or the parties to the saleThe guide does not name a specific document; see the evidence table
Approval of the venture ideaAccredited business incubator or an authority listed on the guideCategory-specific (ICP guide, 10 Sep 2026)
Health insurance for you and your familyUAE insurerExplicit condition at the time of applying (ICP guide)
Passport copy, valid at least six monthsPassport authorityICP guide and residence card
Personal photographYouICP residence card
Medical fitness certificateApproved medical centreApplicants aged 18 and over
Emirates ID applicationICPLinked to residence issuance

How the application runs

  1. Secure the incubator or authority approval first. This is the item most applicants do not yet hold. Approach the incubator or listed authority with a description of the venture, its licence and its revenue or sale history.
  2. Assemble the route evidence. Revenue evidence for an SME earning at least AED 1,000,000 a year, or sale evidence for ventures sold for at least AED 7,000,000 in total, plus health insurance for you and your family.
  3. Run the ICP eligibility check (or use GDRFA Dubai for a Dubai file) and submit the nomination.
  4. Enter or change status. From abroad, ICP's six-month multiple-entry permit to finalise the Golden Residency; inside the UAE, cancellation and a status adjustment for AED 500.
  5. Medical fitness, Emirates ID and residence issuance within 60 days of entry.
  6. Family after your residence is issued.

The application process page gives the sequence for each starting position.

Official fees

ICP residence card fee lines: application AED 100, Golden Residence issuance AED 100 per year, smart service AED 100. The extension of a six-month Golden entry permit is AED 1,000 plus AED 100. No total is published, and the auditor's and incubator's charges are private matters between you and them. GDRFA Dubai fees differ; a Golden-specific Dubai fee card was not found.

Entrepreneur Golden Visa, public-investor Golden Visa or Green visa?

ICP Golden Residency Guide (10 Sep 2026), ICP Green Residence Guide (12 Sep 2026), GDRFA Dubai Green visa card; checked 17 Oct 2026.
Entrepreneur (Golden)Public investor (Golden)Green visa (investor or partner)
Duration10 years (ICP, 10 Sep 2026) / 5 years (u.ae, 28 Jul 2026)10 years5 years
ThresholdSME annual revenue AED 1,000,000, or sold ventures AED 7,000,000AED 2 million deposit or capital, or AED 250,000 annual taxProof of investment or contribution; GDRFA Dubai card: share of at least AED 1 million
Venture approvalYes: accredited incubator or listed authorityNoNo
SponsorNoneNoneNone
FamilySpouse and childrenSpouse and childrenSpouse and children; ICP card adds first-degree relatives
Absence over six monthsExemptExemptExempt

What people get wrong

  • Quoting the AED 500,000 figure as current. It is not on the ICP guide as read on 17 October 2026; the current thresholds are AED 1,000,000 in annual revenue or AED 7,000,000 in sold ventures.
  • Treating a trade licence as the qualification. The licence supports the file; the revenue or sale evidence and the incubator approval define the category.
  • Approaching an incubator that is not accredited for this purpose. Ask for written confirmation before you pay for a programme.
  • Planning on one duration. ICP lists 10 years; u.ae still lists 5. Your permit states its own validity.
  • Forgetting health insurance. The guide now lists valid cover for the entrepreneur and family as a condition at the time of applying.

Next step

If your venture is not yet licensed in the UAE, start with the business setup hub and the free zones comparison; several free zones host incubation programmes. If it is licensed, run the eligibility checker and ask for a review of your evidence before you file.

Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.

Frequently asked questions

Is the AED 500,000 project Golden Visa still available?

Not on the ICP guide as read on 17 October 2026. The guide dated 10 September 2026 lists an SME with annual revenue of at least AED 1,000,000 or sold ventures totalling at least AED 7,000,000, plus incubator approval. Ask the authority before relying on the older figure.

Which business incubators are accredited for the Golden Visa?

The ICP guide requires approval from an accredited business incubator or a listed authority but does not publish the list. Dubai founders usually start with the emirate's economic department; we say 'not published' rather than name incubators the page does not.

Does my company have to be registered in the UAE?

For Route 1, yes: the guide says a venture registered in the UAE and classified as an SME. Route 2 (sold ventures) does not state a location for the sold companies.

Can co-founders each apply?

The guide speaks of the founder of the venture; it does not state whether several founders of the same venture can each qualify. Not stated, so ask ICP or GDRFA for your case.

Is the entrepreneur Golden Visa 5 or 10 years?

ICP (10 September 2026) says 10 years; u.ae (28 July 2026) says 5. Plan on 5 until the pages agree; the permit you receive states its validity.

Can I sponsor my family on an entrepreneur Golden Visa?

Yes. Spouse and children on both official pages; ICP also lists parents. Health insurance for the family is a condition at application.

Official sources and review

The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.

Last reviewed

Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.

Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.

Have your project assessed against the entrepreneur wording

Tell us what the venture does, where it is licensed and what it earns or sold for. A consultant will tell you whether the revenue or sale evidence and the incubator approval are realistic, whom to ask for them, and whether another category fits better.

No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.

Two ways to talk

Message now and an advisor replies during office hours (Monday to Saturday, 9:00–19:00 (GST)), or pick a time that suits you.