Moving to the UAE from Pakistan: visas, attestation and the routes that apply
An honest, source-checked guide for Pakistani nationals: no official visa-on-arrival exists, so the sponsored tourist, relative/friend, 5-year tourist and jobseeker routes apply; the Pakistan-to-UAE attestation chain via HEC, IBCC, NAVTTC, NADRA and MOFA Pakistan; the CNIC document rule; and the Consulate General Dubai guidelines.
The short answer
There is no official visa-on-arrival statement for a Pakistani passport. Pakistan is absent from the airline-published visa-on-arrival tiers and from ICP's Entry Visa for Nationals of Certain Countries, and flydubai states that all other countries need a pre-arranged visa. So Pakistani nationals use a sponsored route: a tourist visa through a UAE tourism establishment, a relative or friend visit visa, the 5-year multiple-entry tourist visa open to all nationalities, a jobseeker visa, or an employment entry permit. This page sets out those routes, the Pakistan-to-UAE attestation chain with the issuing body for each certificate, and the CNIC document rule, as the official pages state them on 4 September 2026.
Key facts
- Visa on arrival
- No official statement for Pakistani passports; Pakistan is not on the VOA tiers or the ICP certain-countries list (do not assume VOA)
- Tourist visa (Dubai)
- Single-entry 30 or 60 days via accredited tourism offices: AED 252 / AED 352 plus 5% VAT (GDRFA Dubai)
- Relative or friend visit visa
- 30 / 60 / 90 days; sponsor income from AED 4,000 (first-degree) to AED 15,000 (friends) (ICP)
- National ID
- A valid CNIC/NICOP copy is required for Pakistani applicants on GDRFA, Emirates and MOHRE applications
- Attestation
- Documents must be attested by MOFA Pakistan, then the UAE Embassy Islamabad / Consulate Karachi (which also delivers the UAE MOFA step)
- Consulate guidance
- Consulate General Dubai advises: passport valid 6 months, valid visa, hotel booking, at least AED 3,000 cash or a valid credit card, return ticket
No visa on arrival — start with a sponsored route
The most important thing to know is what is not true. No official channel we checked states a visa on arrival for a Pakistani passport. Pakistan is not in the 30-day, 90-day or 180-day visa-on-arrival tiers published by Emirates and flydubai, and it is not among the nationalities in ICP's Entry Visa for Nationals of Certain Countries (India, Indonesia, Viet Nam, Thailand, the Philippines, Kenya and South Africa). flydubai states plainly that "passport holders of all other countries need to have pre-arranged visas". If a website tells you Pakistanis get a visa on arrival, treat it as wrong until an official UAE page says so.
What Pakistani nationals do use is a pre-arranged, sponsored route. The choice depends on why you are coming.
| Route | Who sponsors / issues it | Duration and official fee |
|---|---|---|
| Tourist visa (Dubai single-entry) | An accredited UAE tourism office, airline, hotel or travel agent | 30 or 60 days; Dubai fee AED 252 / AED 352 plus 5% VAT; extendable to 120 days total |
| Relative or friend visit visa | A UAE-resident relative or friend | 30 / 60 / 90 days; Dubai fees AED 200 / 300 / 400 plus VAT, deposit AED 1,000; sponsor income AED 4,000–15,000 by relationship |
| 5-year multiple-entry tourist visa | ICP (open to all nationalities) | 90 days per visit, up to 180 days a year; needs a US$4,000 balance held six months, insurance and a ticket |
| Jobseeker visa | ICP (nationality-neutral) | 60 / 90 / 120 days; for MOHRE skill levels 1–3 or top-500 university graduates with a bachelor's degree |
| Employment entry permit | The UAE employer, after MOHRE approval | Convert to a residence visa within 60 days of entry |
The CNIC document rule
Pakistani applicants are named on a UAE documentary rule that most nationalities are not. GDRFA Dubai's tourist and visit cards require an "identity card for the country of origin" for Iraq, Pakistan, Iran and Afghanistan; Emirates lists "Pakistan | National ID Card" as an additional required document; and MOHRE requires workers from Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iraq and Iran to provide a clear copy of both sides of a valid national ID card. In practice: carry a valid CNIC or NICOP copy for any UAE visa or work-permit application. The Consulate General of Pakistan in Dubai also publishes visitor guidance — passport valid for six months, a valid visa, a hotel booking, at least AED 3,000 in cash or a valid credit card, the sponsor's contact details where applicable, and a return ticket dated before the visa expires.
The Pakistan-to-UAE attestation chain, by document type
Pakistani certificates are not accepted in the UAE until they are attested. Pakistan joined the Hague Apostille Convention in 2023, but the UAE is not a party, so a Pakistani apostille alone is not enough — the UAE embassy and UAE MOFA steps still apply. The chain has a Pakistan side (which body attests the certificate, then MOFA Pakistan) and a UAE side. The UAE Embassy in Islamabad and the Consulate General in Karachi run a digital attestation that, in one application, also delivers the UAE MOFA attestation inside the UAE.
| Document type | Pakistan-side attestation | Then, UAE side |
|---|---|---|
| University degree | Higher Education Commission (HEC), via the online system at eservices.hec.gov.pk, then MOFA Pakistan | UAE Embassy Islamabad or Consulate Karachi digital attestation (also delivers the UAE MOFA step) |
| School / board certificate (SSC, HSSC) | Inter Board Coordination Commission (IBCC) at attest.ibcc.edu.pk after board verification, then MOFA Pakistan | UAE Embassy Islamabad / Consulate Karachi, or the Pakistan mission in the UAE then UAE MOFA |
| Technical / vocational certificate | The local technical board and NAVTTC, then MOFA Pakistan | As above |
| Marriage, divorce or birth registration certificate (NADRA / union council) | MOFA Pakistan | UAE Embassy Islamabad / Consulate Karachi, or the Pakistan Consulate General Dubai (fee AED 20) then UAE MOFA |
Consulate General Dubai attestation fees (officially stated)
The Consulate General of Pakistan in Dubai publishes some fees for counter-attesting MOFA Pakistan-attested documents. In most cases the applicant must attend in person with the originals.
| Document | Consulate fee stated |
|---|---|
| Marriage, divorce or birth registration certificate (MRC / DRC / BRC) | AED 20 |
| Affidavit, NOC or authority letter | AED 40 |
| Police character certificate | AED 20 (MOFA-attested) / AED 60 (consulate-issued) |
| Driving licence NOC | AED 40 |
| UAE-issued document (after UAE MOFA attestation first) | AED 60 |
| Educational degree or certificate | Not stated — the fee cell did not render on the page we read |
No Pakistan-specific Golden Visa or company rule; contacts
There is no Pakistan-specific Golden Visa or company-formation rule on ICP, the UAE Government portal, the Ministry of Economy and Tourism, the Commercial Companies Law or the free-zone pages. Pakistani nationals apply under the general rules — see the Golden Visa hub and company setup from Pakistan. Driving-licence exchange in Dubai is also not confirmed: Pakistan is not on RTA's 20 exception-country list, and the wider nationals-only list did not render as readable names, so expect to open a traffic file and take the tests unless RTA's selector shows Pakistan.
- UAE Embassy, Islamabad — visas and Digital Attestation; email islamabademb@mofa.gov.ae.
- UAE Consulate General, Karachi — attestation and support for Golden Visa holders; email karachicon@mofa.gov.ae.
- Embassy of Pakistan, Abu Dhabi — mofa.gov.pk/abu-dhabi; documents must already be attested by the concerned Pakistani departments and MOFA Pakistan.
- Consulate General of Pakistan, Dubai — telephone 04 397 3600; attestation tokens 7:00–13:00 Monday to Thursday and 7:00–11:00 Friday; NADRA services by appointment.
Next step
For a trip, start with the visa guide for Pakistani citizens. For a move, read UAE residence visa and get your Pakistani certificates into the attestation chain early — the HEC and IBCC steps take time. Ask for a review below if you want a person to check the sequence.
Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.
Frequently asked questions
Can a Pakistani passport holder get a UAE visa on arrival?
No official channel we checked says so. Pakistan is not on the airline visa-on-arrival tiers or ICP's certain-countries list, and flydubai states all other countries need a pre-arranged visa. Use a sponsored tourist, relative/friend, 5-year tourist, jobseeker or employment route instead.
What documents do Pakistani applicants specifically need?
A valid CNIC or NICOP copy, because GDRFA Dubai, Emirates and MOHRE all require a home-country national ID from Pakistani applicants. For any certificate used in the UAE, add the attestation chain: the issuing body (HEC, IBCC, a technical board and NAVTTC, or NADRA), then MOFA Pakistan, then the UAE embassy/consulate and UAE MOFA.
How do I attest my Pakistani degree for the UAE?
The degree is attested by the Higher Education Commission through its online system, then by MOFA Pakistan, then by the UAE Embassy Islamabad or Consulate Karachi (which also delivers the UAE MOFA step). School certificates go through IBCC instead of HEC.
Do I have to be present for consulate attestation?
In most cases yes. The Consulate General of Pakistan in Dubai states the applicant's presence with the original documents is mandatory in most cases, and only blood relatives may attest a degree on someone's behalf.
Is there a Pakistan-specific Golden Visa?
No. The official pages contain no Pakistan-specific Golden Visa or company rule. Pakistani nationals apply under the general rules; the Pakistan-specific work is attesting your documents.
Can I exchange my Pakistani driving licence in Dubai?
Not confirmed. Pakistan is not on RTA's 20 exception countries, and the wider list did not render as readable names. Expect to open a traffic file and take the tests unless RTA's own country selector shows Pakistan.
Official sources and review
The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.
- ICPNews, 25 June 2026: eligibility expanded for the UAE Entry Visa for Nationals of Certain Countries (14-day and 60-day categories)Checked 4 September 2026
- flydubai (airline visa channel)Dubai visas — visa-on-arrival tiers and the India 14-day criteriaChecked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiIssuance of a single-entry tourist visaChecked 4 September 2026
- MOHREIssuance of a New Work Permit — Transfer Work Permit (national ID rule)Checked 4 September 2026
- Consulate General of Pakistan, DubaiGuidelines for visitors and tourists from PakistanChecked 4 September 2026
- UAE MOFA (Embassy Islamabad)Digital AttestationChecked 4 September 2026
- Consulate General of Pakistan, DubaiAttestation requirements and feesChecked 4 September 2026
- HCCH (Hague Conference on Private International Law)Apostille Convention — status tableChecked 4 September 2026
Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.
Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.
Tell us your goal and your documents
Send us what you are trying to do and which certificates you hold. A consultant will map it to a sponsored route and tell you which Pakistani documents need HEC, IBCC or MOFA attestation, and in what order.
No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.