UAE Golden Visa for investors (public investments): the three routes to a 10-year residency
The public-investment Golden Visa as the ICP Golden Residency Guide states it: a 10-year residency through an AED 2 million fund deposit, AED 2 million company capital, or AED 250,000 in annual tax confirmed by the Federal Tax Authority. Documents, issuers, process and fees.
The short answer
You can obtain a 10-year Golden Visa as an investor in public investments through one of three routes on the ICP Golden Residency Guide (updated 10 September 2026): a deposit of at least AED 2,000,000 with an investment fund or a national bank operating in the UAE, ownership of a UAE company with capital of at least AED 2,000,000, or paying federal taxes of at least AED 250,000 a year, confirmed by the Federal Tax Authority. The invested capital must be fully owned by you and not derived from a loan. This category is distinct from the real-estate investor route.
Key facts
- Duration
- 10 years (ICP guide, 10 Sep 2026; u.ae table)
- Route A: deposit
- At least AED 2,000,000 with an investment fund or one of the national banks operating in the UAE (ICP guide). The earlier guide named funds only
- Route B: company
- Valid commercial or industrial licence plus Memorandum of Association showing capital of at least AED 2,000,000
- Route C: tax
- Federal Tax Authority letter confirming at least AED 250,000 in federal taxes paid annually
- Capital condition
- Fully owned by the investor and not derived from a loan (ICP guide, verbatim)
- Family security deposit
- AED 3,000 per family member, maximum AED 15,000 (ICP fee list, investor's family residency)
- Applying from abroad
- Six-month multiple-entry entry visa, renewable once (ICP guide); AED 1,000 on the ICP extension card
Who this category is for
The ICP guide calls this category "Investors in public investments" and states two conditions in its summary: "a minimum capital investment of AED 2 million" or "ownership of real estate or a stake in an establishment that pays annual taxes of no less than AED 250,000". The document list then makes those conditions concrete as three routes. It suits people who hold liquid capital in a UAE fund, founders and shareholders of capitalised UAE companies, and owners or partners of businesses with a substantial tax bill.
It is not the route for property. Property investors have their own category with a land-registration letter (ICP now lists it at 10 years; u.ae still says 5); the guide keeps the two apart, and so do we. If you hold both a company and property, the public-investor route is 10 years on both official pages.
The three routes compared
| Route | What the guide requires | Decisive document | Issued by | Practical points |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A. Deposit | A deposit of no less than AED 2 million | Letter confirming the existence of the deposit | An investment fund or one of the national banks operating in the UAE (ICP guide, 10 Sep 2026) | The earlier guide named funds only. Ask the fund or bank to confirm its letter is accepted before you place capital. The capital must be fully owned by you and not derived from a loan. |
| B. Company capital | A valid commercial or industrial licence with capital of no less than AED 2 million | The licence plus the Memorandum of Association showing the capital | Mainland economic department or free zone authority (licence); notary or authority (MoA) | The capital figure in the MoA is what the authority reads. A high turnover with low registered capital does not meet this wording. |
| C. Annual tax | Owner or partner pays taxes of no less than AED 250,000 annually | Letter confirming the tax paid | Federal Tax Authority | The guide does not say which taxes count or over how many years. Ask the FTA what its letter will state before relying on this route. |
What changed in October 2026
Checked 17 October 2026. The ICP Golden Residency Guide dated 10 September 2026 widens Route A: the deposit of at least AED 2,000,000 may now sit "with an investment fund or one of the national banks operating in the UAE". Our previous text, from the earlier guide, mentioned accredited investment funds only. The company-capital and tax routes are unchanged, and the guide now states in one sentence that the capital "must be fully owned by the investor and must not be derived from a loan". Duration remains 10 years on both official pages. ICP's FAQ (updated 8 October 2026) repeats "valid for 10 years and renewable".
Documents and who issues them
| Document | Issued by | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Route letter: fund or bank letter, or licence plus MoA, or FTA letter | As in the table above | One route is enough; the guide lists them as alternatives |
| Passport valid for at least six months | Passport authority | ICP residence card |
| Personal photograph | You | ICP residence card |
| Proof of eligibility for the category | The route letter | ICP card wording |
| Medical fitness certificate | Approved medical centre | Applicants aged 18 and over |
| Emirates ID application | ICP | Linked to residence issuance |
| For family: kinship documents, housing proof, health insurance | Home-country registries (attested); landlord or title; UAE insurer | General family-residence list on the ICP card |
How the application runs
- Choose the route whose document you can obtain most cleanly. If your company's MoA capital is below AED 2 million but the company pays substantial tax, route C may be simpler than a capital increase.
- Obtain the route letter. Fund letter, licence and MoA, or FTA letter.
- Run the ICP eligibility check (or use GDRFA Dubai's Golden visa services for a Dubai file) and submit the nomination request.
- Enter or change status. From abroad, ICP's six-month multiple-entry permit to finalise the Golden Residency; inside the UAE, cancellation of the current residence and a status adjustment for AED 500.
- Medical fitness, Emirates ID and residence issuance within 60 days of entry. ICP fee lines: AED 100 application, AED 100 per year issuance, AED 100 smart service.
- Family. Spouse and children after your residence is issued, with the AED 3,000 per-member guarantee up to AED 15,000.
The full sequence for each starting position is on the application process page.
Official fees
The ICP residence card lists application AED 100, Golden Residence issuance AED 100 per year, smart service AED 100, and a financial guarantee for the investor's family residency of AED 3,000 per family member up to AED 15,000. No total is published. GDRFA Dubai fees differ and a Golden-specific Dubai fee card was not found; the note we located gives AED 2,280 residence fees and AED 575 identity card for a five-year residency. Medical, Emirates ID and typing charges are separate.
Public investor or real-estate investor?
| Public investments | Real estate | |
|---|---|---|
| Duration on the official tables | 10 years | 10 years (ICP, 10 Sep 2026) / 5 years (u.ae, 28 Jul 2026) |
| Threshold | AED 2 million deposit or capital, or AED 250,000 annual tax | AED 2 million property; a loan from an approved local bank is allowed |
| Decisive letter | Fund, licensing authority plus MoA, or FTA | Land registration department |
| Proof of UAE residence listed | Not listed for this category | Listed: property ownership or tenancy contract |
| Page | This page | Property investor |
Check before you apply
- Will the fund's or bank's letter state a deposit of AED 2 million or more in your name, fully owned and not borrowed?
- Does your company's Memorandum of Association state capital of AED 2 million or more, and is the licence commercial or industrial and current?
- Will the Federal Tax Authority issue a letter naming you as owner or partner and the annual tax figure?
- Are you applying through ICP or GDRFA Dubai? The channels, fee lines and appointment systems differ.
- If you hold an employment residence now, have you sequenced the cancellation so that family residencies are not left without a sponsor?
- Do you plan to withdraw the deposit or reduce the capital later? The official pages do not address what happens to the residency if the qualifying investment ends; take advice before you do it.
Next step
Run the eligibility checker to confirm the route, then ask for a document review. If your business is not yet set up in the UAE, the business setup hub explains mainland and free zone licensing, and investor and partner visas covers the two-year alternative at the AED 1 million level.
Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.
Frequently asked questions
Does a fixed deposit in a UAE bank count for the Golden Visa?
Since the ICP guide of 10 September 2026, yes: a deposit of at least AED 2,000,000 with one of the national banks operating in the UAE qualifies, as does the same amount with an investment fund. The money must be yours and not borrowed.
Can two partners share AED 2,000,000 in company capital?
The guide ties the capital to the applicant's company, not to each partner. Where the official page does not state a split rule we say so. Ask ICP or GDRFA to confirm before two partners file on one MOA.
Which taxes count towards the AED 250,000?
Taxes due to the Federal Government, confirmed by a Federal Tax Authority letter. Corporate tax and VAT are federal; municipality and customs charges are not named on the page.
Is the investor Golden Visa 10 years?
Yes, on both the ICP guide and u.ae. It renews without a sponsor.
Do I have to keep the investment for the whole 10 years?
The official pages do not state a holding period. Expect the evidence to be checked again at renewal. We do not publish a rule the authority has not published.
What is the difference between the investor Golden Visa and the investor residence visa?
The Golden Visa is the 10-year, self-sponsored permit above. The ordinary investor or partner residence visa is a 2-year permit tied to your trade licence with no AED 2,000,000 threshold; see our investor and partner visa page.
Official sources and review
The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.
- ICPGolden Residency Guide (Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Security)Checked 17 October 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Golden visa — types of visasChecked 17 October 2026
- ICPIssuing residency permit — service card (fees and conditions)Checked 17 October 2026
- ICPICP smart services — Golden visa eligibility checkChecked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiGolden visa services (Dubai)Checked 17 October 2026
- ICPWhat is Golden Residency? (services: nomination request; multiple-entry permit to finalise Golden Residency)Checked 17 October 2026
- ICPVisa extension — service card (6-month multiple-entry permit for Golden/Blue Residence procedures)Checked 17 October 2026
Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.
Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.
Have your investor route reviewed
Tell us whether your capital sits in a fund, in a company or in a tax bill. A consultant will tell you which route fits, which letter to request and from whom, and what the authority will look for at verification.
No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.