Skip to content
ImmigrationUAEVisas · Residency · Business
Golden Visa · Eligibility

UAE Golden Visa eligibility: who qualifies under each category

Golden Visa eligibility for investors, entrepreneurs, executives, specialists, doctors, scientists, creatives, athletes, students and humanitarian pioneers, taken from the ICP Golden Residency Guide with the gatekeeping authority for each category.

Last reviewed
Checked against official UAE sources · re-reviewed every 30 days

The short answer

You are eligible for a UAE Golden Visa if you fall into one of the categories on the ICP Golden Residency Guide and can produce the evidence that guide names for it: a capital or property threshold for investors, an audited project value for entrepreneurs, a specific accreditation or recommendation letter for talents, or academic results for students. There is no general points test and no general salary test; the only salary figure on the official pages is AED 50,000 for executive directors. This page sets out each category's test as the guide states it, checked on 4 September 2026.

Key facts

Investors
AED 2 million fund deposit, AED 2 million company capital, AED 250,000 annual tax, or AED 2 million property without loans
Entrepreneurs
Innovative or technology project valued at AED 500,000 or more by an auditor, with an incubator or authority letter
Executive directors
Degree, 5 years' experience, employment contract, salary certificate of AED 50,000 or more
Doctors, scientists, inventors, creatives, athletes
A letter from the named ministry, council or authority; no salary figure is stated
Students
95% or more at secondary school; GPA 3.8 or more at an accredited university, within two years of graduation
Humanitarian pioneers
5 years' involvement, 500 volunteer hours, or AED 2 million of financial support

How eligibility works

The Golden Visa is category-based. You do not accumulate points; you show that you belong to a category and hold the evidence the ICP guide lists for it. In practice that means two questions for every applicant: do you meet the threshold, if the category has one, and can you obtain the letter from the body that vouches for that category? The second question is the one people underestimate. For most talent categories the threshold is the letter.

Eligibility is checked officially through the ICP smart services eligibility tool for Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah files, and through GDRFA Dubai for Dubai files. The tool's answer for your own case outranks anything on this page.

Eligibility matrix: threshold and gatekeeper by category

The table separates the number you must meet from the body that must confirm it. Where the guide gives no number, the threshold column says so.

ICP Golden Residency Guide (updated 20 Aug 2026), checked 4 Sep 2026. Durations mirrored on the u.ae Golden visa table.
CategoryThreshold statedGatekeeper (who issues the decisive letter)Duration
Public investor: fund depositAED 2 million or moreAn accredited investment fund, confirming the deposit10 years
Public investor: company capitalAED 2 million or more in the Memorandum of AssociationThe licensing authority (commercial or industrial licence) plus the MoA10 years
Public investor: taxAnnual taxes of AED 250,000 or more paid by the owner or partnerFederal Tax Authority letter10 years
Real-estate investorProperty worth AED 2 million or more, without loansLand registration department of the emirate (Dubai Land Department in Dubai)5 years
EntrepreneurProject value AED 500,000 or moreAn auditor (value) and an accredited business incubator or the relevant emirate authority (innovation)5 years
Executive directorSalary AED 50,000 or more; 5 years' experience; university degreeEmployer (contract, salary and experience certificates); degree certified10 years
Specialist in priority scientific and engineering fieldsNo amount; a certified PhD or degree and an employment contractAwarding university (certified copy); employer (contract)10 years
DoctorNo amountMinistry of Health accreditation letter to practise10 years
ScientistNo amountEmirates Council of Scientists recommendation, or an award for scientific excellence10 years
InventorNo amountMinistry of Economy recommendation letter10 years
Creative in culture and artsNo amountMinistry of Culture and Youth or a Department of Culture and Arts accreditation letter10 years
AthleteNo amountGeneral Sports Authority or a sports council recommendation10 years
Outstanding student: secondaryScore of 95% or moreMinistry of Education recommendation5 years
Outstanding student: universityGPA of 3.8 or more; graduated within the last two years; accredited universityThe university (recommendation or graduation certificate)10 years
Humanitarian pioneer / frontline hero5 years' involvement, or 500 volunteer hours, or AED 2 million of supportHumanitarian organisations (certificates of appreciation and involvement)10 years

Investors

The guide gives two headline conditions for public investors: "a minimum capital investment of AED 2 million" or "ownership of real estate or a stake in an establishment that pays annual taxes of no less than AED 250,000". The document list then makes the AED 2 million route concrete in two forms, a fund deposit or company capital shown in the Memorandum of Association, and the tax route concrete as a letter from the Federal Tax Authority. Real-estate investors sit in a separate five-year category with the AED 2 million property letter. The investor page and the property investor page cover each in detail.

Entrepreneurs, executives and specialists

Entrepreneurs must show an innovative, technology-based or future-oriented project. Two letters carry the application: an auditor's letter that the project is worth at least AED 500,000, and a letter from an accredited business incubator or the relevant authority in the emirate confirming the innovative nature of the project.

Executive directors are the one professional group with a numeric salary test, AED 50,000, and it comes with three more items: a certified university degree, a certificate showing at least five years' experience, and an employment contract. Specialists in priority scientific and engineering fields need a certified PhD or degree and an employment contract; the guide does not name the priority fields, though an older ICP page lists computer engineering, electronics, programming, electricity, biotechnology, artificial intelligence, big data and epidemiology. Both groups are described on the skilled professionals page.

A monthly salary of AED 30,000 is widely quoted online as the skilled-professional threshold. It does not appear on the ICP guide or on u.ae as checked on 4 September 2026. Do not build an application on it.

Doctors, scientists, inventors, creatives and athletes

For these groups the guide names no threshold. Eligibility rests on a letter: a Ministry of Health accreditation for doctors; a recommendation from the Emirates Council of Scientists or an award for scientific excellence for scientists; a Ministry of Economy recommendation for inventors; an accreditation letter from the Ministry of Culture and Youth or a Department of Culture and Arts for creatives; and a recommendation from the General Sports Authority or one of the sports councils for athletes. The Ministry of Culture runs an online recommendation service for creatives at mcy.gov.ae. See doctors and scientists and talent and creatives.

Students and humanitarian pioneers

Secondary-school students need a Ministry of Education recommendation and a score of 95% or more, for a five-year residency. University students and recent graduates need a GPA of 3.8 or more from an accredited university, a university recommendation or graduation certificate, and no more than two years since graduation, for ten years. The guide also asks students for proof of the ability to support and house family members. Humanitarian pioneers and frontline heroes need certificates of appreciation plus proof of five years' involvement with humanitarian organisations, 500 volunteer hours, or financial support of AED 2 million or more. The outstanding students page covers the academic route.

What does not count, or is not stated

  • A high salary alone, outside the executive-director test, is not a Golden Visa category. Compare the Green visa, which has a salary test of AED 15,000 for skilled workers.
  • Years of UAE residence are not a criterion on the guide.
  • Property below AED 2 million, or property with a loan, is not covered by the guide's wording; whether mortgaged property is accepted is not stated.
  • A business licence without AED 2 million capital, AED 250,000 in annual tax, or an audited innovative project does not fit any category on the guide.

Next step

Use the eligibility checker to see which category's evidence you already hold, then read requirements and documents before you approach the gatekeeping body for your letter.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a minimum salary for the Golden Visa?

Only for executive directors, where the ICP guide requires a salary certificate of AED 50,000 or more alongside a degree, five years' experience and a contract. No other category on the guide carries a salary figure.

Do I have to live in the UAE already?

The guide does not make prior residence a condition. Real-estate investors and entrepreneurs are asked for proof of UAE residence in the form of property ownership or a tenancy contract, which is a document requirement rather than a residence-history test.

Can a company owner qualify?

Yes, through the public-investor category if the company's capital in the Memorandum of Association is AED 2 million or more, or if the owner or partner pays AED 250,000 or more in annual tax confirmed by the Federal Tax Authority. Founders of innovative projects worth AED 500,000 or more use the entrepreneur category.

Does a PhD qualify on its own?

The guide lists specialists in priority scientific and engineering fields with a certified PhD or degree and an employment contract, so a contract is part of the evidence. Which fields count as priority is not defined on the current guide.

Who decides my eligibility?

ICP for the six emirates it serves and GDRFA Dubai for Dubai. The official eligibility tool and the verification appointment are where the decision is made; a recommendation letter from a ministry supports the application but does not replace it.

Official sources and review

The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.

Last reviewed

Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.

Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.

Have your eligibility assessed against the official tests

Send us a short summary of your profile. A consultant will tell you which category the evidence supports, which letter you will need and from whom, and whether anything in your file needs the authority's written confirmation first.

No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.