Skip to content
ImmigrationUAEVisas · Residency · Business
From the UK

Moving to the UAE from the UK: visa on arrival, attestation, driving licence and tax

A source-checked guide for British citizens: the 90-day visa on arrival, passport-validity and overstay rules, the FCDO apostille to UAE Embassy London attestation chain with fees and timings, the Dubai RTA driving-licence exchange, and the UK-UAE double taxation convention.

Last reviewed
Checked against official UAE sources · re-reviewed every 30 days

The short answer

British citizens receive a free visa on arrival in the UAE for up to 90 days in any 180-day period from first entry (GOV.UK), with a passport valid six months on arrival, or three months if you already hold a UAE residence permit. To use UK documents in the UAE you follow three steps: FCDO apostille (£45 per document, usually up to 25 working days), attestation by the UAE Embassy in London, then UAE MOFA after arrival, because the UAE is not a Hague Apostille party. A UK driving licence exchanges in Dubai without translation (RTA service 121, total AED 1,050), and the UK-UAE Double Taxation Convention has applied since 1 January 2017.

Key facts

Visa on arrival
Free, up to 90 days over a 180-day period from first entry, continuous or split (GOV.UK; Emirates and flydubai 90-day tier, valid 6 months from issue)
Passport validity
6 months on arrival; 3 months if you hold a residence permit; 3 months for airside transit (GOV.UK)
Overstay
Fines accumulate daily (AED 50 per day); extend via GDRFA Dubai or ICP for the other emirates
Working on the visa on arrival
Not allowed; GOV.UK warns of fines, detention and deportation, and describes a probationary work permit route via the labour ministry
Attestation chain
FCDO apostille, then UAE Embassy London (by post), then UAE MOFA — the UAE is not a Hague party, so an apostille alone is not enough. FCDO standard service £45 per document, usually up to 25 working days; business next-day service £40 for registered businesses (GOV.UK, read 17 Oct 2026)
Driving licence
UK-issued licences are exchangeable in Dubai, all categories, no translation (RTA). RTA fee breakdown: traffic file AED 200, licence AED 600, handbook AED 50, eye test AED 180, Knowledge and Innovation AED 20; total AED 1,050 (RTA service 121, updated 8 Oct 2026); Britain on the 20-country list
Healthcare
No UK-UAE reciprocal health agreement; employers in Abu Dhabi and Dubai must provide health insurance (GOV.UK Living in the UAE, updated 11 Dec 2025)
Double taxation
UK-UAE Convention signed 12 April 2016, in force 25 December 2016, effective from 1 January 2017 (HMRC)

Entry: the 90-day visa on arrival

For holders of a full "British citizen" passport, GOV.UK states you get a visitor or tourist visa free of charge on arrival, with no need to apply in advance; your passport is stamped at immigration and the visa is valid for up to 90 days over a 180-day period, beginning on first entry, either continuous or split across visits. Emirates and flydubai place the United Kingdom on their 90-day multiple-entry tier, adding that the stamp is valid for six months from the date of issue for 90 days of stay in total. The UAE Government portal does not print the country list itself and says the lists "may vary from time to time" and to check with the UAE embassy; GOV.UK says the same. British nationals holding other passport types (for example British Overseas citizens) are not covered by this on the pages we read.

Your passport must be valid for 6 months on arrival, or 3 months if you hold a UAE residence permit, or 3 months for airside transit. Overstaying draws a daily fine (AED 50 per day); to extend, contact GDRFA Dubai for Dubai or ICP for the other emirates. Working on a visit visa is illegal — GOV.UK notes a probationary work permit of up to 3 months in Dubai, obtained through the labour authority (now MOHRE), for those switching to work.

What changed in October 2026

Checked 17 October 2026. No entry rule changed: GOV.UK still states a free visa on arrival for up to 90 days over a 180-day period from first entry, a six-month passport rule (three months with a residence permit or for transit), and daily overstay fines. Two official pages were refreshed since September. RTA Dubai updated its licence-exchange service on 8 October 2026: the total is AED 1,050 (traffic file AED 200, licence AED 600, handbook AED 50, eye test AED 180, Knowledge and Innovation AED 20), Britain remains on the 20-country list and no translation is needed. GOV.UK's Living in the UAE guidance (11 December 2025) adds that there is no reciprocal health agreement and that employers in Abu Dhabi and Dubai must provide health insurance. The UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs page we cited for the London embassy's attestation service has moved; until we locate the replacement, the by-post rule on this page is as we recorded it on 4 September 2026.

Entry, apostille, driving-licence and treaty facts re-checked 17 October 2026. The page's review date stays at 4 September 2026 until the attestation source is re-found.

The UK-to-UAE attestation chain, with FCDO fees and timings

A UK document is not accepted in the UAE until it is legalised. The UK is a Hague Apostille member, but the UAE is not, so an FCDO apostille is a required first step rather than the whole answer — the UAE embassy and UAE MOFA steps follow. Both governments describe the same three-step chain.

Sources: GOV.UK (Get your document legalised; Documents for British people abroad); UAE Embassy London Attestation Service; HCCH status table. Checked 4 Sep 2026.
StepWho does itFee and timing stated
1. Legalise (apostille)FCDO Legalisation Office; registrar documents (birth, marriage, death, company) accepted in original, other documents notarised or solicitor-certified firstStandard paper apostille £45 per document plus courier (rest of world £42 per 1.5 kg); usually up to 25 working days. e-Apostille £35, up to 2 working days — but not available for GRO birth, marriage, death, civil-partnership or adoption certificates, nor ACRO or DBS certificates
2. UAE Embassy London attestationUAE MOFA Embassy, 1-2 Grosvenor Crescent; by post only, enclosing the online payment receipt and a covering letterFee not stated on the page we read (online payment step). The embassy will not legalise non-UK, non-Irish or non-Icelandic academic certificates; Crown Dependencies and Overseas Territories have separate first steps
3. UAE MOFA attestation in the UAEUAE Ministry of Foreign AffairsCompletes the chain for use in the UAE
Whether the UAE Embassy London accepts FCDO e-Apostilles is not stated on the page we read. Because the embassy accepts documents by post and requires originals for registrar documents, the standard paper apostille is the route that fits UAE family-sponsorship documents such as birth and marriage certificates.

Exchanging a UK driving licence in Dubai

Britain is on Dubai RTA's list of 20 countries whose licences any nationality can exchange. A UK-issued licence is exchangeable for all categories, with no translation and without the original being withdrawn, provided the licence is valid and you pass an eye test. The fees the RTA service page lists are below. Fees and processes in emirates other than Dubai are not stated on the pages we read.

Source: RTA Dubai service 121, page updated 8 October 2026, checked 17 Oct 2026. Dual nationals whose residence visa is stamped on a non-exception-country passport cannot exchange.
Item (RTA service 121)Amount
New traffic fileAED 200
Driving licenceAED 600
HandbookAED 50
Eye testAED 180
Knowledge and Innovation feesAED 20
Total shown (with a new traffic file)AED 1,050 (or an AED 400 route where a traffic file already exists)
As a visitor, RTA allows you to drive light vehicles and motorcycles in Dubai on a UK licence; residents must exchange it. A UK licence does not let you drive a KSA-plated vehicle in the UAE except when crossing the border.

Double taxation and end-of-service

The UK-UAE Double Taxation Convention was signed on 12 April 2016 and entered into force on 25 December 2016, taking effect from 1 January 2017, with modifications from the Multilateral Instrument during 2020. GOV.UK's living-in-the-UAE guide states the UK has a double-tax agreement with the UAE so you do not pay tax on the same income in both countries, and that the UAE has no income tax on salaries or wages. It adds that only UAE citizens can claim a UAE pension, while expatriates may be eligible for end-of-service benefits after working in the UAE. The Convention's Article 4 defines a UAE resident as an individual domiciled, habitually resident or with a centre of vital interests in the UAE, or an entity incorporated or recognised under UAE law. UK statutory residence, split-year treatment and HMRC certificates of residence are matters of UK law and are not covered here; check GOV.UK before relying on your position.

Relocating a family or a business from the UK

If you are moving the household, the sequence is: secure a residence route (employment, investment or Golden Visa), complete the medical fitness test and Emirates ID, then sponsor your family — for which your UK marriage and birth certificates must be through the attestation chain above. GOV.UK notes that a residence-visa applicant takes a blood test, and a positive result for a communicable disease can lead to detention and deportation. Read UAE residence visa and family visa.

If you are moving a business, British nationals form companies under the general rules — 100% foreign ownership on the mainland for most activities and in free zones. See business setup and, for property-linked residency, Dubai property and residency. There is no UK-specific Golden Visa or company rule.

Official channels and contacts

  • UAE Embassy, London — 1-2 Grosvenor Crescent, London SW1X 7EE; +44 (0) 20 7581 1281; LondonEMB.info@mofa.gov.ae; attestation by post only.
  • British Embassy, Abu Dhabi — PO Box 248; access by appointment only; it does not provide UK visa services.
  • British Embassy, Dubai — Al Seef Road, Bur Dubai, PO Box 65; by appointment only.
  • FCDO Legalisation Office — legalisation@fcdo.gov.uk, telephone 03700 00 22 44; documents by post only, not in person.

Next step

For a trip, the 90-day visa on arrival needs nothing in advance beyond a valid passport. For a move, get your UK certificates into the FCDO and UAE embassy chain early — the standard apostille alone can take up to 25 working days — and read UAE residence visa. Ask for a review below if you want a person to sequence the family or business file.

Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.

Frequently asked questions

Do British citizens need a visa for Dubai or the UAE?

No visa in advance. You get a free visa on arrival for up to 90 days in a 180-day period from first entry (GOV.UK). Your passport needs six months' validity on arrival, or three months if you hold a UAE residence permit.

How long can a UK passport holder stay in the UAE?

Up to 90 days in any 180 days, continuous or split, on the visa on arrival. Staying longer needs a residence visa or an extension through GDRFA Dubai or ICP; overstay fines accrue daily (AED 50 per day on the u.ae provisions page).

How do I attest a UK marriage certificate for the UAE?

FCDO apostille first (£45 per document, usually up to 25 working days; GRO certificates must go on paper), then the UAE Embassy in London, then UAE MOFA after you arrive. An apostille alone is not accepted because the UAE is not a Hague party.

Can I exchange my UK driving licence in Dubai and what does it cost?

Yes. Britain is on RTA's 20-country list; no translation is needed. RTA service 121 (updated 8 October 2026) totals AED 1,050 including the eye test and traffic file. You need a valid Emirates ID and the original licence.

Will I pay tax in both the UK and the UAE?

The UK-UAE Double Taxation Convention (signed 12 April 2016, in force 25 December 2016, effective 1 January 2017) prevents the same income being taxed twice. The UAE has no income tax on salaries; UK liability depends on your UK residence status, so check HMRC's statutory residence test.

Can I work on the 90-day visa on arrival?

No. GOV.UK warns that working on a visit visa risks a fine, detention and deportation. Employment needs a MOHRE work permit and residence visa.

Is there a UK-specific Golden Visa or company route?

No. British nationals use the standard ICP Golden Visa categories (see our hub, updated for the 10 September 2026 guide) and the same company-formation rules as everyone else.

Official sources and review

The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.

Last reviewed

Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.

Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.

Sequence your move from the UK

Tell us whether you are visiting, relocating your family or moving a business, and which UK documents you hold. A consultant will lay out the residence route, the attestation order and the licence exchange so nothing waits on a missing stamp.

No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.

Two ways to talk

Message now and an advisor replies during office hours (Monday to Saturday, 9:00–19:00 (GST)), or pick a time that suits you.