UAE Golden Visa application process: inside the UAE, from abroad, Dubai and the other emirates
How a Golden Visa application runs step by step: the ICP smart services route for six emirates, the GDRFA Dubai route with its verification appointment, and the outside-UAE route using the six-month multiple-entry permit. Official fee lines and what the pages say about timing.
The short answer
A Golden Visa application runs in three stages: confirm the category and collect its evidence, submit a nomination or application to ICP (Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah, Fujairah) or to GDRFA Dubai (Dubai files), then complete the residence formalities of medical fitness, Emirates ID biometrics and residence issuance within 60 days of entry. If you are outside the UAE, ICP publishes a six-month multiple-entry permit to finalise the Golden Residency, extendable once for AED 1,000. The official pages do not publish an end-to-end processing time. All of this was checked on 4 September 2026.
Key facts
- ICP channel
- Smart services Golden visa dashboard and nomination request, UAE Pass login; UAEICP app; call centre 600 522 222
- Dubai channel
- GDRFA Dubai Golden visa services; Golden Visa Appointment to book a verification visit; Amer centres
- From abroad
- Six-month multiple-entry permit to finalise the Golden Residency; extendable once (AED 1,000 plus AED 100 application)
- Completion window
- Residence procedures must be completed within 60 days of entry (ICP card)
- Permit-issuance step
- ICP card states a service completion duration of 2 days for that step only
- Change of status inside the UAE
- AED 500 status-adjustment fee on the ICP card, after cancelling the previous residence
Before you start
Three things decide how your application runs: which category you apply under, which authority holds your file, and where you are when you apply. Settle all three first. The category determines the evidence (see requirements and documents). The authority is ICP for six emirates and GDRFA Dubai for Dubai. Your location determines whether you enter on a permit and complete inside the country, or change status from an existing residence.
If you already hold a UAE residence, note the ICP card's change-of-status mechanism: a request inside the country for AED 500, after the previous residence is cancelled and the new visa issued, so that you complete the residency without leaving. If you sponsor family on your current residence, sequence the cancellations so that their residencies are not left without a sponsor.
Route 1: you are in one of the six ICP emirates
- Eligibility check. Run the ICP smart services eligibility check with UAE Pass. Keep the result.
- Collect the category evidence. The letter or certificate the ICP guide names for your category, plus passport and photograph.
- Nomination request. ICP lists a nomination request for Golden Residence service. Submit through the Golden visa dashboard.
- Cancellation and status change, if you hold a residence. Cancel the existing residence (the employer does this for an employment residence, after cancelling the work permit with MOHRE) and file the status-adjustment request for AED 500.
- Medical fitness. At an approved centre, for applicants aged 18 and over.
- Emirates ID. Application and biometrics; residence issuance is linked to the Emirates ID application.
- Residence issuance. The ICP card gives a service completion duration of 2 days for this step. Fee lines: application AED 100, issuance AED 100 per year, smart service AED 100.
- Family. Apply for spouse and children once your own residence is issued.
Route 2: your file is in Dubai
- Golden visa services. Use the GDRFA Dubai Golden visa services online, through the GDRFA app, Dubai Now, or an Amer service centre.
- Nomination and verification. GDRFA publishes a Golden Visa Appointment service: "Golden visa applicant can schedule an appointment for visiting GDRFAD office for verification". Bring originals.
- Entry permit or status change. If you are inside the UAE on another status, GDRFA cards for other residence types apply an inside-country fee of AED 500; we could not find a Golden-specific card stating this, so confirm at the Amer centre.
- Medical fitness and Emirates ID. As for route 1, at Dubai Health Authority centres.
- Residence issuance. The GDRFA note we found states, for a five-year Golden residency, residence fees of AED 2,280 and an identity card fee of AED 575. The note appears on the retired-foreigner card; a Golden-specific fee card was not found.
- Renewal later. GDRFA publishes separate renewal cards by Golden category: entrepreneurs, talents, top students and graduates, humanitarian pioneers and frontline.
Route 3: you are outside the UAE
Neither u.ae nor the ICP guide describes an outside-UAE procedure in steps. What ICP does publish is the mechanism: a service to "issue multiple entry permit to finalize the procedures of the Golden Residency" on the older ICP Golden Residence page, and on the visa-extension card the rule that "the 6-month multiple-entry permit for completing Golden or Blue Residence procedures may be extended once for an equivalent period only", with an extension fee of AED 1,000 plus the AED 100 application fee. Read together with the nomination service, the route is:
- Nomination or eligibility from abroad through ICP smart services with UAE Pass, or through GDRFA Dubai for a Dubai file.
- Six-month multiple-entry permit issued to finalise the Golden Residency.
- Enter the UAE and complete medical fitness, Emirates ID and residence issuance. The ICP card requires completion within 60 days of entry; overstaying attracts a fine of AED 50 per day.
- If you need longer, the permit can be extended once for a further six months.
The sequence in one view
| Stage | Six ICP emirates | Dubai | From abroad |
|---|---|---|---|
| Check category | ICP eligibility tool | GDRFA Golden visa services | ICP tool or GDRFA, with UAE Pass |
| Submit | Nomination request | Application plus verification appointment | Nomination; six-month multiple-entry permit |
| Enter or change status | Status adjustment AED 500 if already resident | Inside-country fee on other cards AED 500; confirm for Golden | Enter on the permit; 60 days to complete |
| Medical and Emirates ID | Approved centres; ICP | DHA centres; ICP | Same, after entry |
| Issue residence | ICP: 2 days for this step | GDRFA; timing not stated on a Golden card | ICP or GDRFA, as above |
| Family | After issuance | After issuance | After issuance |
Official fee lines and where each comes from
| Fee line | Amount | Official source |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | AED 100 | ICP residence service card |
| Golden Residence issuance, per year of validity | AED 100 | ICP residence service card (worded for a 10-year duration) |
| Smart service fee | AED 100 | ICP residence service card |
| Status adjustment inside the country | AED 500 | ICP residence service card |
| Financial guarantee, investor's family, per member (maximum AED 15,000) | AED 3,000 | ICP residence service card |
| Extension of the six-month multiple-entry Golden permit | AED 1,000 plus AED 100 application | ICP visa-extension service card |
| Overstay after the completion window | AED 50 per day | ICP residence service card; u.ae |
| Dubai, five-year Golden residency: residence fees | AED 2,280 | GDRFA note on the retired-foreigner card |
| Dubai, identity card fee | AED 575 | GDRFA note on the retired-foreigner card |
How long it takes: what is and is not published
The Golden Visa pages on u.ae and ICP do not state a processing time. The only official figure is the ICP residence card's 2-day service completion duration, which covers the residence-permit issuance step alone. Verification appointments, the gatekeeping ministry's letter, medical results and Emirates ID printing add time the pages do not quantify. Any total you see on a private website is that site's estimate.
What goes wrong
- Applying under a category whose letter you do not yet hold. Get the ministry, council, fund, auditor or land-registration letter first.
- Cancelling an employment residence before the Golden nomination is confirmed, leaving family residencies without a sponsor.
- Entering on the six-month permit and letting the 60-day completion window lapse.
- Assuming Dubai and ICP fees, forms and appointment systems are the same.
- Relying on a 10-year term for property when the official tables state 5.
Next step
Confirm your category on the eligibility page, assemble the file from requirements and documents, and if you would like a consultant to sequence the cancellations, permits and appointments for you, use the form below.
Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.
Frequently asked questions
Can I apply for the Golden Visa online?
Yes. ICP smart services (with UAE Pass) for six emirates and GDRFA Dubai's online services for Dubai. Dubai adds an in-person verification appointment.
Do I have to be in the UAE to apply?
The official pages do not say you must be, and ICP publishes a six-month multiple-entry permit to finalise the Golden Residency, which is how applicants abroad enter to complete the formalities. The step-by-step outside route is not published; confirm it with the authority.
How long does the Golden Visa take?
Not stated officially. The ICP card gives 2 days for the residence-permit issuance step only.
What happens to my current visa?
It is cancelled and the Golden residence is issued in its place. Inside the UAE this is done through a status adjustment for AED 500 on the ICP card, so you do not have to leave. Plan family cancellations and re-issuance in the right order.
Can I extend the six-month entry permit?
Once, for an equivalent period, according to the ICP visa-extension card, for AED 1,000 plus the AED 100 application fee.
Is there a total government fee?
No official total is published. ICP lists per-line fees; GDRFA Dubai's note gives AED 2,280 plus AED 575 for a five-year residency. Medical, Emirates ID and typing charges are additional.
Official sources and review
The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.
- ICPGolden Residency Guide (Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Security)Checked 4 September 2026
- ICPIssuing residency permit — service card (fees and conditions)Checked 4 September 2026
- ICPVisa extension — service card (6-month multiple-entry permit for Golden/Blue Residence procedures)Checked 4 September 2026
- ICPWhat is Golden Residency? (services: nomination request; multiple-entry permit to finalise Golden Residency)Checked 4 September 2026
- ICPICP smart services — Golden visa services dashboardChecked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiGolden visa services (Dubai)Checked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiGolden Visa Appointment (verification visit booking)Checked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiResidence permit for the retired foreigner — service card (carries a Golden residency fee note)Checked 4 September 2026
Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.
Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.
Have the sequence planned for you
Tell us where you are, which authority holds your file and whether you sponsor family now. A consultant will lay out the order of cancellations, permits, appointments and issuance so nothing lapses in between.
No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.