Skip to content
ImmigrationUAEVisas · Residency · Business
Golden Visa · Doctors and scientists

UAE Golden Visa for doctors, scientists and inventors

The 10-year exceptional-talents Golden Visa for doctors (Ministry of Health accreditation letter), scientists (Emirates Council of Scientists recommendation or a scientific award) and inventors (Ministry of Economy recommendation), as the ICP Golden Residency Guide states it.

Last reviewed
Checked against official UAE sources · re-reviewed every 30 days

The short answer

Doctors, scientists and inventors are listed on the ICP Golden Residency Guide under individuals with exceptional talents and specialised expertise, with a 10-year residency. Each has one decisive document: for doctors, an accreditation letter from the Ministry of Health to practise the profession; for scientists, a recommendation letter from the Emirates Council of Scientists or an award for scientific excellence; for inventors, a recommendation letter from the Ministry of Economy. The guide states no salary, no minimum years of practice and no specialty list for these groups. Checked 4 September 2026.

Key facts

Duration stated
10 years (ICP guide; u.ae table)
Doctors
Accreditation letter from the Ministry of Health to practise the profession
Scientists
Recommendation letter from the Emirates Council of Scientists, or an award for scientific excellence
Inventors
Recommendation letter from the Ministry of Economy (now the Ministry of Economy and Tourism)
Salary or experience test
None stated for these groups

Who this category is for

This is the part of the Golden Visa aimed at people whose value to the country is professional or scientific rather than financial. The ICP guide's summary line for the whole exceptional-talents group says only that "each category has specific requirements, such as endorsement letters, professional experience, or accredited educational certificates". The document list then names one letter for each of the three groups on this page. In practice, that letter is the application: obtain it and the rest of the file is the standard residence paperwork.

Executive directors and specialists in priority scientific and engineering fields, who sit in the same exceptional-talents group but with degree and contract evidence, are covered on the skilled professionals page. Creatives and athletes are on talent and creatives.

Which letter, from whom

ICP Golden Residency Guide (updated 20 Aug 2026), checked 4 Sep 2026.
GroupDecisive document (ICP guide wording)Issued byCurrent name of the body
DoctorsAn accreditation letter from the Ministry of Health to practise the professionMinistry of HealthThe guide says Ministry of Health; it does not say whether letters from emirate-level health regulators are accepted in its place
ScientistsA recommendation letter from the Emirates Council of Scientists or an award for scientific excellenceEmirates Council of Scientists; or the body that conferred the awardEmirates Council of Scientists (named on the guide)
InventorsA recommendation letter from the Ministry of EconomyMinistry of EconomyMinistry of Economy and Tourism (the ministry's current name; the guide uses the older name)

Doctors

The single named document is an accreditation letter from the Ministry of Health confirming that you may practise. The guide does not set a specialty list, a minimum number of years, a salary or a requirement to be employed in a UAE facility, though in practice a practising licence presupposes a UAE licence to practise. Doctors licensed by an emirate-level health regulator, such as the Dubai Health Authority which u.ae names as a medical fitness provider, should ask the authority handling the visa whether that regulator's letter is accepted, because the guide names only the ministry.

An older ICP page with 2021 wording refers to "doctors and engineers in the fields of computer engineering, electronics, programming, electricity and biotechnology" and to specialised degrees in "epidemiology and viruses". That list is older than the guide and we do not treat it as current; it shows the fields the authority has historically recognised.

Scientists

Two alternatives are named: a recommendation letter from the Emirates Council of Scientists, or an award for scientific excellence. The guide does not say which awards qualify or who judges that. If you hold an international or national prize, prepare the award certificate and a description of the awarding body; if you do not, the Emirates Council of Scientists route is the one the guide names directly. Scientists employed in priority fields with a PhD may also fit the specialist wording (certified PhD plus employment contract); compare the two on the skilled professionals page and choose the evidence you already hold.

Inventors

The guide names a recommendation letter from the Ministry of Economy. The ministry is now the Ministry of Economy and Tourism; it registers trademarks in the UAE, and its recommendation is the decisive document. The guide does not require a granted patent in terms, but the ministry decides on what basis it recommends, so assemble your patent grants or applications, evidence of commercial use and any recognition before you approach it.

Documents and who issues them

Documents named on the official ICP pages as checked on 4 Sep 2026; the last row is practical, not an official requirement.
DocumentIssued byNotes
The decisive letter for your groupMinistry of Health; Emirates Council of Scientists or awarding body; Ministry of Economy and TourismCategory-specific (ICP guide)
Passport valid six months; photographPassport authority; youICP residence card
Proof of eligibility for the categoryThe decisive letterICP card wording
Medical fitness certificateApproved medical centreApplicants aged 18 and over
Emirates ID applicationICPLinked to residence issuance
Supporting professional evidence (licence, CV, publications, patents, award certificates)Regulators, journals, patent officesNot named by the guide; commonly requested by the gatekeeping body when it decides whether to issue its letter

How the application runs: the letter comes first

  1. Apply to the gatekeeper. Ministry of Health (doctors), Emirates Council of Scientists (scientists) or the Ministry of Economy and Tourism (inventors). This step has its own criteria and timing, none of which are published on the Golden Visa pages.
  2. Receive the letter and check it names you as on your passport and states the purpose.
  3. Run the ICP eligibility check or use GDRFA Dubai's Golden visa services, and submit the nomination with the letter.
  4. Enter or change status. From abroad, ICP's six-month multiple-entry permit to finalise the Golden Residency; inside the UAE, cancellation of the current residence and a status adjustment for AED 500.
  5. Medical fitness, Emirates ID and residence issuance within 60 days of entry. ICP fee lines: AED 100 application, AED 100 per year issuance, AED 100 smart service.
  6. Work permit. If you are employed, your employer obtains the two-year Golden visa holder work permit from MOHRE.

What the guide does not state for these groups

  • No salary figure.
  • No minimum years of practice or research.
  • No list of specialties or scientific disciplines.
  • No statement on whether emirate-level health regulators' letters substitute for the Ministry of Health letter.
  • No list of qualifying awards.
  • No requirement that the applicant be resident or employed in the UAE at the time of application, though the letters presuppose engagement with UAE bodies.

Next step

Identify the gatekeeper for your group and ask what it needs to issue its letter. Then run the eligibility checker and assemble the residence file from requirements and documents.

Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.

Frequently asked questions

Do doctors need a minimum salary for the Golden Visa?

No salary is stated for doctors on the ICP guide. The decisive document is the Ministry of Health accreditation letter to practise.

I am licensed by an emirate health authority, not the ministry. Does that count?

The guide names the Ministry of Health only. Ask ICP or GDRFA Dubai in writing whether your regulator's letter is accepted before you apply.

Which awards qualify a scientist?

The guide says an award for scientific excellence without listing any. The alternative it names is a recommendation from the Emirates Council of Scientists.

Do I need a granted patent to apply as an inventor?

The guide names a Ministry of Economy recommendation letter, not a patent. The ministry, now the Ministry of Economy and Tourism, decides on what basis it recommends; patents and evidence of use are the natural support.

Can a nurse or pharmacist apply under this category?

The guide names doctors. It does not mention other health professions in this group. Ask the authority before relying on the doctor wording.

Is the visa 10 years?

Yes. Individuals with exceptional talents and specialised expertise receive 10 years on both official pages.

Official sources and review

The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.

Last reviewed

Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.

Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.

Have your professional evidence mapped to the right letter

Tell us your profession, licence and any awards or patents. A consultant will tell you which body's letter you need, what it usually asks for, and how the residence file is built around it.

No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.