Sponsoring your parents in the UAE: what the official pages state and what they do not
An honest account of parent sponsorship in the UAE: the u.ae FAQ allows a resident to sponsor parents for a year's stay against a deposit per parent, but the official pages we read state no salary threshold, deposit amount or document list specific to parents. What is verified, what is not, and the alternatives the official pages do describe.
The short answer
The UAE Government portal's FAQ says an expatriate resident can sponsor their parents for a year's stay by paying a deposit as a guarantee for each parent. That is the extent of what the official pages we checked on 4 September 2026 state: no salary threshold, no deposit amount and no parent-specific document list appears on the ICP card, the u.ae family page or the GDRFA Dubai card. The AED 20,000 salary figure that circulates online is not on any official page we read, so we do not publish it as a rule. The verified alternatives are a resident-sponsored visit visa for a parent and, for UAE citizens, a five-year residence for a foreign parent.
Key facts
- Stated
- 'An expatriate resident can sponsor his/her parents for a year's stay by paying a deposit as a guarantee for each parent' (u.ae FAQ)
- NOT STATED
- Salary threshold for sponsoring parents; deposit amount; whether both parents must be sponsored together; parent-specific documents
- Private-site figures
- AED 20,000 salary and similar figures: UNVERIFIED, not on official pages read
- Green residence
- Holders may sponsor first-degree relatives (ICP card); whether this includes parents is not spelled out
- Visit alternative
- Resident may sponsor a parent's visit (first-degree relative) on a salary of AED 4,000; 30, 60 or 90 days, extendable to 180 days total (ICP)
- UAE citizen's parent
- 5-year residence without having to work (u.ae; ICP)
Why this page is different
Parent sponsorship is one of the most searched family topics and one of the least documented on official pages. Private websites fill the gap with figures. Our rule is to publish only what the official pages state, so this page is shorter on numbers and longer on what you should verify with the authority before you plan.
What is stated and what is not
| Question | Official pages checked | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Can a resident sponsor parents? | u.ae FAQ: yes, 'for a year's stay by paying a deposit as a guarantee for each parent' | VERIFIED |
| Duration | One year (u.ae FAQ) | VERIFIED |
| Salary threshold | Not on the ICP card, u.ae family page or GDRFA Dubai card; the general family threshold is AED 4,000 or AED 3,000 plus housing | NOT STATED for parents |
| Deposit amount | The FAQ mentions a deposit per parent without an amount | NOT STATED |
| Must both parents be sponsored together? | Not addressed | NOT STATED |
| Parent-specific documents | Not listed; the ICP family list requires proof of kinship, income, housing and insurance | NOT STATED |
| Health insurance for parents | ICP family list requires valid health insurance for dependants | VERIFIED as a general family requirement |
| Green residence holders | 'entitled to sponsor first-degree relatives' (ICP card) | Whether parents are included is not spelled out |
| Renewal of a parent's one-year residence | Not addressed | NOT STATED |
Documents you can expect, based on the general family list
The official pages list no parent-specific documents. The general family list on the ICP card and u.ae will apply at minimum; the authority may ask for more.
| Document | Issued by |
|---|---|
| Proof of kinship: your own attested birth certificate naming the parent | Civil registry of your country of birth; attested |
| Parent's passport valid 6 months and photograph | Parent's passport authority |
| Sponsor's employment certificate with income and housing; job contract | Employer |
| Utility bill; tenancy contract or ownership proof | Utility provider; tenancy registry; land department |
| Valid health insurance for each parent | Insurer |
| Medical fitness certificate | EHS, DHA or SEHA centres (18 and above) |
| Deposit per parent | Lodged with the authority; amount not stated |
Alternatives the official pages do describe
A visit visa for a parent. Parents are first-degree relatives on the ICP visit card, so a resident earning AED 4,000 per month can sponsor a 30, 60 or 90-day visit, extendable by the issuing authority up to a total of 180 days, against a refundable guarantee of AED 1,000 (single entry) or AED 2,000 (multiple entry). Details on visit visa requirements.
A UAE citizen's parent. u.ae and the ICP card describe a five-year renewable residence for the foreign spouse, parent or child of a UAE national, without having to work.
A parent who qualifies in their own right. The retirement residence (five years, age or service condition plus property, savings or income) and the Golden Visa categories are self-sponsored and do not depend on you. See retirement conditions and Golden Visa.
How to proceed
- Ask the authority in writing (ICP for six emirates, GDRFA Dubai for Dubai) for the current salary condition and deposit for parent sponsorship. Keep the reply.
- Attest your own birth certificate as proof of kinship.
- Arrange housing proof and insurance for each parent.
- Apply for the entry permit, or a change of status (ICP AED 500) if the parent is already in the UAE on a visit.
- Complete medical, Emirates ID and residence within 60 days of entry.
- Diarise the one-year expiry; renewal terms are not stated, so ask before it lapses.
What people get wrong
- Treating AED 20,000 as the law. It is not on any official page we read. It may be applied in practice; only the authority can confirm.
- Assuming a parent's residence lasts as long as yours. The FAQ says one year.
- Bringing a parent on a visit and expecting an automatic switch. A change of status is a separate request with its own fee.
- Skipping insurance. Valid health insurance is on the ICP family document list.
Next step
Tell us your emirate, salary and housing, and whether your parents are already in the UAE. We will tell you which parts of the process are documented, draft the question to put to the authority, and set out the visit-visa fallback if the residence route is not available to you.
Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.
Frequently asked questions
Can I sponsor my parents for residence in the UAE?
The u.ae FAQ says an expatriate resident can sponsor parents for a year's stay by paying a deposit per parent. No further conditions are stated on the official pages we read.
What salary do I need to sponsor my parents?
Not stated on the ICP card, the u.ae family page or the GDRFA Dubai card. Figures such as AED 20,000 come from private sites and are unverified. Ask the authority in writing.
How much is the deposit for a parent's visa?
The u.ae FAQ mentions a deposit as a guarantee for each parent but does not state the amount.
Can I sponsor only one parent?
The official pages we read do not address this. Confirm with ICP or GDRFA Dubai before applying.
Can my parents visit instead?
Yes. Parents are first-degree relatives on the ICP visit card; a resident earning AED 4,000 can sponsor a 30, 60 or 90-day visit, extendable up to 180 days in total.
Do Green Visa holders get better parent rules?
The ICP card says Green residence holders may sponsor first-degree relatives. Whether that covers parents on different terms from other residents is not spelled out on the pages we read.
Official sources and review
The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)FAQs: visa and Emirates IDChecked 4 September 2026
- ICPIssuing Residency Permit — service card (all residence types)Checked 4 September 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Residence visa for family membersChecked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiEntry visa for residence without work — family sponsorshipChecked 4 September 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)General provisions for the residence visaChecked 4 September 2026
Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.
Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.
Planning to bring your parents?
Tell us your emirate, salary and housing. We will say what is documented, draft the question for the authority and set out the visit-visa fallback.
No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.