Living in the UAE: residence visa routes, the process and the rules that follow
Every UAE residence route the official pages describe — employment, investor or partner, Green, Golden, retirement, virtual work, student, property owner and family — with the entry permit, medical, Emirates ID and residence sequence, the 60-day completion rule, the 180-day absence rule and the grace periods and overstay fines as stated.
The short answer
To live in the UAE you need a residence permit, which ICP issues for six emirates and GDRFA Dubai issues for Dubai, always linked to an Emirates ID. Sponsored residence runs for one, two or three years; the unsponsored Green, Golden and similar categories run for five or ten. Whatever the route, the sequence is the same: an entry permit, a medical fitness test for anyone aged 18 or over, Emirates ID biometrics and the residence stamp, completed within 60 days of entry. This page maps the routes and the rules that apply to all of them, as checked on 4 September 2026.
Key facts
- Validity
- 1, 2 or 3 years on a sponsored visa; up to 5 or 10 years on an unsponsored visa (u.ae)
- Sequence
- Entry permit → medical fitness test (18+) → Emirates ID application → residence permit; complete within 60 days of entry (ICP)
- Authorities
- ICP for Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah; GDRFA Dubai for Dubai
- 180-day rule
- Residence is nullified after more than 180 continuous days outside the UAE unless you are in an exempt category (u.ae; ICP)
- Grace period after expiry or cancellation
- Up to 6 months according to resident category (u.ae); 60 days on GDRFA Dubai cards for the permit types read
- Overstay fine
- AED 50 per day (u.ae; ICP)
- ICP residence fees
- Application AED 100; issuance AED 100 per year; smart service AED 100; change of status AED 500
What a residence permit is
Federal Decree-Law No. 29 of 2021 defines a residence permit as an official document "that enables a Foreigner to reside in the State for the period specified in the document", and makes the federal authority responsible for issuing, renewing and cancelling it. The same law lets a resident "bring in his family members" under conditions set by the executive regulations. On the ICP service card, every residence type is issued through one service, "Issuing Residency Permit", and the permit is "linked to an Emirates ID card application".
Two facts shape everything else. First, most residence is sponsored: an employer, a family head, a university or your own company files for you, and a dependant's permit "will not exceed that of the sponsor". Second, a handful of categories are self-sponsored, run for five or ten years, and carry their own conditions: the Golden Visa (Golden Residence), the Green residence, the retirement residence and the virtual-work residence.
Which residence route
The table lists each route the official pages describe, the sponsor, the duration stated and the single condition that most often decides whether it is available to you.
| Route | Sponsor | Duration stated | Deciding condition (official wording) | Read next |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Employment residence | Employer | 2 years, renewable (u.ae) | MOHRE work permit for entities under the Labour Relations Law; illegal to work without one | UAE residence visa |
| Family residence | Resident spouse or parent | Matches the sponsor's permit, cannot exceed it | Sponsor income AED 4,000, or AED 3,000 plus employer-provided housing; adequate housing; proof of kinship | Family visa |
| Investor or partner residence | Own company (mainland) or the free zone | Not stated as a fixed term on the ICP card | Contribution to the company not less than AED 1,000,000 (ICP); Dubai Green investor card uses the same AED 1,000,000 paid share | Investor residence visa |
| Green residence (skilled worker, freelancer, investor) | None | 5 years, renewable | Skilled: MOHRE level 1–3, bachelor's, salary AED 15,000; freelancer: MOHRE permit, income AED 360,000 over two years | UAE residence visa |
| Golden Visa (Golden Residence) | None | 5 or 10 years by category | Category-specific: e.g. property of AED 2 million or more | Golden Visa |
| Retirement residence | None | 5 years, renewable | Worked 15 years and/or aged 55 (the two official pages differ); property or savings of AED 1 million, or annual income (AED 180,000 on u.ae; AED 240,000 on the ICP card) | Retirement conditions |
| Virtual work (remote work) residence | None | 1 year, renewable | Proof of work outside the UAE; salary of at least USD 3,500; health insurance | UAE residence visa |
| Student residence | Parent or accredited university | Set by the study programme; 180 days allowed after completion | Sons up to 25, longer if attending a higher-education institute; daughters until married | Sponsoring children |
| Property-owner residence | Self, on the property | NOT STATED on the ICP card | Fully constructed, registered, fully owned and suitable for residence; income AED 10,000 per month or solvency | Investor residence visa |
| Foreign family of a UAE citizen | UAE-national sponsor | 5 years, renewable | Spouse, parent or child of a UAE national; no need to work | Family visa |
The sequence every residence follows
Written as the ICP card and u.ae describe it. The order matters because each step unlocks the next, and the whole run must finish within 60 days of your entry.
- Entry permit. The sponsor obtains an entry permit "to complete the procedures for issuing a work residency or residence for family members". If you are already in the UAE on another visa, the ICP card provides a change-of-status request for AED 500 "after canceling the previous residence permit and upon the issuance of a new visa", so you complete residence "without the need to leave the UAE".
- Entry and the 60-day clock. "It is required that the foreigner's stay in the UAE does not exceed sixty (60) days from the date of entry for the purpose of completing the residence issuance procedures." Miss it and the overstay fines apply.
- Medical fitness test. Required for applicants aged 18 and above, at Emirates Health Services, Dubai Health Authority or SEHA centres. See medical fitness test.
- Security check and Emirates ID application. Fingerprints and signature are taken from age 15. The residence permit is linked to the Emirates ID application.
- Residence permit issued. ICP states a service completion of 2 days for this step; fees are AED 100 application, AED 100 per year of issuance and AED 100 smart-service.
- Emirates ID printed and collected. The card is the legal proof of residence you must carry at all times.
- Sponsor your family, if you qualify, once your own permit is active.
For employees, ICP notes the service "is provided through the Work Bundle for categories under the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation", a single digital process that combines the work permit, entry, medical, Emirates ID and residence steps.
Documents common to every residence application
| Document | Issued by | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Passport valid for at least 6 months | Your passport authority | ICP condition for all residence types |
| Personal photograph | You | Standard |
| Medical fitness certificate (18+) | EHS, DHA or SEHA medical fitness centres | Communicable-disease screening; category-specific extra tests |
| Emirates ID application receipt | ICP | The residence is linked to it |
| Entry permit or change-of-status approval | ICP or GDRFA Dubai | Change of status AED 500 (ICP) |
| Sponsor's proof: employment contract and MOHRE work permit, trade licence and partnership agreement, or kinship documents and income proof | MOHRE, the licensing authority, or civil authorities abroad with attestation | Varies by route; see each route's page |
| Valid health insurance | Insurer | Listed on the ICP family-residence document list |
| National ID copy for nationals of Afghanistan, Iran and Iraq | Home-country ID authority | ICP document list |
Rules that apply once you are a resident
The 180-day absence rule. A residence visa is nullified if the holder stays outside the UAE for more than 180 continuous days, unless they fall within the exceptions u.ae lists, which include students abroad, investors and people receiving medical treatment. ICP offers a re-entry permit applied for from outside the country after six months, at AED 100 for every 30 days or less of delay plus a AED 100 smart fee; the card says "this service is not for residents of Dubai" and exempts Golden, Green and Blue residence holders. Entry must follow within 30 days of the permit's approval.
Renewal, grace and overstay. "Your sponsor must renew your residence visa before it expires." After cancellation or expiry, u.ae gives "flexible grace periods that reach up to 6 months (according to resident category)"; GDRFA Dubai's virtual-work, retired and cancellation cards state "(60) sixty days"; dependants get six months. The overstay fine is AED 50 per day "starting from the day following the end of the grace period applicable to the specific type of entry permit" (ICP).
Cancellation. Normally only the sponsor can cancel. A private employer first cancels the work permit with MOHRE; a family sponsor cancels dependants before their own permit; the Emirates ID is cancelled with the residence. Full detail on renewal and cancellation.
Official fees the ICP card states
For every residence type the ICP card lists: application AED 100; issuance AED 100 per year; smart service AED 100; status adjustment AED 500; financial security deposit fee AED 20. GDRFA Dubai cards list AED 200 plus VAT for family, Green, virtual-work and retired permits, plus AED 10 Knowledge Dirham, AED 10 Innovation Dirham and AED 500 when applying from inside the country. Medical, Emirates ID, typing and MOHRE work-permit charges are separate.
What people get wrong
- Letting the 60 days run out. The deadline to finish residence starts on entry, not on the medical. Overstay fines follow.
- Cancelling the old residence before the new one is approved. GDRFA Dubai's Green cards say plainly: 'please do not cancel the current residence, if any, before obtaining a green residence permit'.
- Assuming a six-month grace period applies to everyone. u.ae says 'up to 6 months (according to resident category)'; Dubai cards state 60 days for the types we read.
- Staying abroad more than 180 days on a sponsored permit. The permit is nullified unless you are exempt, and the Dubai re-entry route is not on the ICP card.
- Treating the ICP 2-day completion as the whole timeline. It is the permit-issuance step only; medical results and Emirates ID printing are not quantified.
- Quoting a private-site threshold as official. Property-owner visa value and duration, and the parents' sponsorship salary, are not stated on the official pages we read.
Next step
Pick your route from the table and read its page. If you are choosing between routes, for example an employment visa versus a Green residence, or an investor visa versus the Golden Visa, send us your job, salary, qualifications and any company or property you hold, and we will say which conditions each official page attaches and which you already meet.
Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.
Frequently asked questions
How long is a UAE residence visa valid?
u.ae: 1, 2 or 3 years on a sponsored visa, or up to 5 or 10 years on an unsponsored visa. The ICP FAQ says one, two or three years, extending to five or more for some categories such as investors.
What is the difference between an entry permit and a residence visa?
The entry permit lets you enter to complete the residence procedures. The residence permit, linked to your Emirates ID, lets you reside for the period on the document. Both are defined in Federal Decree-Law No. 29 of 2021.
Do I have to leave the UAE to change from a visit visa to residence?
Not necessarily. The ICP card describes a change-of-status request for AED 500 so the residence can be completed inside the country after the previous permit is cancelled and the new visa issued.
How long can I stay outside the UAE as a resident?
Up to 180 continuous days, after which the residence is nullified unless you are in an exempt category. Golden, Green and Blue residence holders are exempt; ICP offers a re-entry permit for other categories outside Dubai.
Is there a grace period after my residence expires?
u.ae says up to 6 months according to category; GDRFA Dubai cards state 60 days for the permit types we read; dependants get six months. The overstay fine of AED 50 per day starts the day after the grace period ends.
Which authority do I deal with?
GDRFA Dubai if your sponsor or company is in Dubai; ICP for Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah. Both need a UAE Pass login for online services.
Can I sponsor my family on any residence visa?
A resident who meets the income condition can sponsor a spouse, unmarried daughters, sons under 25 and children with special needs. Green and Golden holders can also sponsor. Parents are a separate case with limited official detail; see sponsoring parents.
Official sources and review
The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)General provisions for the residence visaChecked 4 September 2026
- ICPIssuing Residency Permit — service card (all residence types)Checked 4 September 2026
- ICPICP frequently asked questionsChecked 4 September 2026
- ICPPermit to stay outside the country for more than 6 monthsChecked 4 September 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Residence visa for working in the UAEChecked 4 September 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Residence visa for family membersChecked 4 September 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Green visaChecked 4 September 2026
- UAE Legislation portalFederal Decree-Law No. 29 of 2021 on Entry and Residence of ForeignersChecked 4 September 2026
Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.
Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.
Choosing between residence routes?
Send your job, salary, qualifications and any company or property you hold. We will say which official conditions each route attaches and which you already meet.
No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.
