Skip to content
ImmigrationUAEVisas · Residency · Business
Golden Visa · Outstanding students

UAE Golden Visa for outstanding students: 95% at school, GPA 3.8 at university

The outstanding-students Golden Visa as the ICP Golden Residency Guide states it: 5 years for secondary-school students with a score of 95% or more and a Ministry of Education recommendation; 10 years for university students and graduates with a cumulative GPA of 3.8 or more from an accredited university, within two years of graduation.

Last reviewed
Checked against official UAE sources · re-reviewed every 30 days

The short answer

Students qualify for a Golden Visa in two tiers on the ICP Golden Residency Guide. Secondary-school students need a recommendation letter from the Ministry of Education and proof of academic excellence with a score of 95% or more, and receive 5 years. University students and graduates need a recommendation letter from the university or a graduation certificate showing a cumulative GPA of 3.8 or more from an accredited university, with no more than two years since graduation, and receive 10 years. Both tiers also need proof of the ability to provide financial support and accommodation for family members. Checked 4 September 2026.

Key facts

Secondary school
Score of 95% or more; Ministry of Education recommendation; 5 years
University
Cumulative GPA of 3.8 or more from an accredited university; university recommendation or graduation certificate; no more than two years since graduation; 10 years
Family support
Proof of the ability to provide financial support and accommodation for family members (ICP guide)
Sponsor
None; the student holds the residence in their own right
Where stated
ICP Golden Residency Guide (20 Aug 2026); durations mirrored on u.ae

Who this category is for

The Golden Visa for outstanding students is the one category built for young people rather than investors or established professionals. It gives a student or recent graduate a residence in their own name, without a parent or university as sponsor, for 5 or 10 years depending on the level of study. The ICP guide's summary line asks for "excellence certificates" and "recommendation letters from the school or university"; the document list then sets the marks.

It suits pupils finishing secondary school in the UAE with top results, undergraduates and graduates of accredited universities with a high GPA, and families who want a child's residence to stand independently of the parent's employment.

Secondary school or university: the two tiers side by side

ICP Golden Residency Guide (updated 20 Aug 2026); durations on the u.ae Golden visa table (28 Jul 2026); checked 4 Sep 2026.
Secondary-school studentsUniversity students and graduates
Academic test (ICP guide)Proof of academic excellence with a score of 95% or moreCumulative GPA of 3.8 or more, from an accredited university
RecommendationRecommendation letter from the Ministry of EducationRecommendation letter from the university, or a graduation certificate
Time limitNot statedNo more than two years since graduation
Duration5 years10 years
Family supportProof of the ability to provide financial support and accommodation for family membersSame
Where the university isNot applicableThe guide says accredited universities; it does not say UAE-only

Counting the two-year window

The university tier is time-limited: the guide says "no more than two years since graduation". The window runs from the graduation date on the certificate, not from the date you left campus or received your transcript. A graduate of June 2024 is inside the window until June 2026 and outside it afterwards, however high the GPA. If you are close to the boundary, obtain the university recommendation and file the nomination before the anniversary; the guide does not say whether the date of nomination or the date of issuance is the one that counts, so file early.

The secondary-school tier has no stated time limit, but a Ministry of Education recommendation is tied to a school record, so apply while the record is recent.

Documents and who issues them

ICP Golden Residency Guide and ICP residence service card, checked 4 Sep 2026.
DocumentIssued byTier
Recommendation letterMinistry of EducationSecondary school
Proof of academic excellence, score of 95% or moreThe school; the examination board or the Ministry of EducationSecondary school
Recommendation letter or graduation certificate showing cumulative GPA of 3.8 or moreThe university (accredited)University
Evidence that graduation was within the last two yearsThe university (date on the certificate)University
Proof of the ability to provide financial support and accommodation for family membersBank, employer or property documents, as applicableBoth
Passport valid six months; photographPassport authority; youBoth
Medical fitness certificateApproved medical centreApplicants aged 18 and over
Emirates ID applicationICPBoth
The family-support line is in the guide's student document list. It reads as a condition for sponsoring family rather than a condition of the student's own residence, but the guide does not separate the two. Prepare it either way.

How the application runs

  1. Obtain the recommendation. Ministry of Education for school pupils; the university's registrar or dean for graduates. Ask for the exact wording the guide uses: score of 95% or more, or cumulative GPA of 3.8 or more.
  2. Run the ICP eligibility check or use GDRFA Dubai's Golden visa services for a Dubai file. GDRFA Dubai lists a separate renewal card for top students and graduates.
  3. Submit the nomination with the recommendation and transcript or certificate.
  4. Change status if the student holds a residence under a parent or university: cancellation of that residence and a status adjustment for AED 500 on the ICP card, so the student does not have to leave.
  5. Medical fitness (18 and over), Emirates ID and residence issuance within 60 days. ICP fee lines: AED 100 application, AED 100 per year issuance, AED 100 smart service.

If you miss the marks: the ordinary student residence

ICP Golden Residency Guide, ICP residence service card, u.ae student residence page; checked 4 Sep 2026.
Outstanding-student Golden VisaOrdinary student residence
SponsorNoneParent, or the accredited university or college
Duration5 or 10 yearsDetermined by the study programme (ICP card)
After studyResidence continues to expiryThe student may remain 180 days after the study period ends (ICP card)
Sons on a parent's sponsorshipNot applicableUp to 25; over 25 with evidence of attending a higher-education institute (u.ae)
Academic test95% or GPA 3.8None; enrolment

Next step

Check your score or GPA against the table, count the two-year window, and ask the school or university for the recommendation. Then run the eligibility checker. If the marks fall short, the ordinary student residence and the parent-sponsored route are on sponsoring children.

Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.

Frequently asked questions

Does the university have to be in the UAE?

The guide says accredited universities and does not restrict them to the UAE. Which accreditation counts is not stated; ask ICP or GDRFA Dubai before relying on a foreign degree.

My GPA is on a different scale. What do I do?

The guide states 3.8 without naming a scale. Ask the university to state the GPA on a 4.0 scale or provide an official conversion, and confirm with the authority that it accepts it.

Can a secondary-school student under 18 hold a Golden Visa?

The guide sets no age limit for the secondary tier. Medical fitness applies from 18. In practice a parent handles the application for a minor; ask the authority how it processes a minor's file.

Is the university student visa 10 years?

Yes, on both the ICP guide and the u.ae table, for university students and graduates who meet the GPA and two-year conditions. Secondary-school students receive 5 years.

Can a student sponsor parents or siblings?

The guide asks students for proof of the ability to support family members but does not say which relatives. The general Golden Visa pages name spouse and children. Ask the authority before planning around it.

I graduated three years ago with a GPA of 3.9. Do I qualify?

Not under the wording on the guide, which requires no more than two years since graduation. Consider the specialist or executive-director routes on the skilled professionals page, or the Green visa.

Official sources and review

The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.

Last reviewed

Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.

Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.

Have a student's file checked before the window closes

Tell us the level of study, the score or GPA, the graduation date and where the university is. A consultant will tell you which tier fits, whether the two-year window is still open, and what the recommendation should say.

No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.