UAE investor and partner residence visa, property-owner residence and the retirement residence
The three self-funded residence routes below the Golden Visa as the ICP card, u.ae and GDRFA Dubai state them: the investor or partner residence (contribution of AED 1,000,000 to a company), the property-owner residence (conditions stated, duration and value not stated) and the five-year retirement residence, with the u.ae versus ICP discrepancy on income (AED 180,000 or AED 240,000) and on the 15-years-and-55 condition set out plainly.
The short answer
Below the Golden Visa there are three ways to hold a UAE residence on your own money. The investor or partner residence on the ICP card requires a contribution to a company of not less than AED 1,000,000 in cash or equivalent; GDRFA Dubai's Green investor card uses the same AED 1,000,000 paid share. The property-owner residence requires a fully constructed, registered, fully owned property suitable for residence and an income of AED 10,000 per month or proof of solvency; its duration and any minimum value are not stated on the ICP card. The retirement residence is five years for people who have worked 15 years or are 55, with property or savings of AED 1 million or an annual income that u.ae puts at AED 180,000 and the ICP card at AED 240,000.
Key facts
- Investor/partner: contribution
- Not less than AED 1,000,000 in cash or equivalent, at establishment or on joining an existing company; in-kind contributions valued by the Ministry of Economy (ICP)
- Investor/partner: Dubai
- Investor's or partner's share not less than AED 1,000,000 paid (GDRFA Dubai Green investor card); entry permit AED 200 plus VAT
- Investor family guarantee
- AED 3,000 per family member, maximum AED 15,000 (ICP)
- Property owner: conditions
- Fully constructed (no vacant land); registered with the real-estate registration authority; fully owned by the applicant; suitable for residence; income AED 10,000 per month or solvency (ICP)
- Property owner: NOT STATED
- Duration and minimum property value are not on the ICP card; the 'AED 750,000 / 2 years' figure on private sites is unverified
- Retirement: duration
- 5 years, renewable (u.ae; GDRFA Dubai)
- Retirement: income conflict
- Annual income AED 180,000 on u.ae (28 Jul 2026) versus AED 240,000 on the ICP card and for Dubai
Who these routes are for
Company owners and partners whose stake is below the Golden Visa thresholds, owners of a completed UAE property who want to live in it, and retirees with UAE property, savings or a pension. Each route is self-funded and each carries a condition that the official pages state precisely. If your investment is larger, the Golden Visa for investors and the property-investor Golden Visa run for five or ten years without a sponsor.
Free zone company owners get their residence through the free zone's own visa allocation; the official pages we read state no federal threshold for that route. See investor and partner visa through company formation.
The three routes side by side
| Route | Deciding condition (official wording) | Duration stated | Sponsor | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Investor or partner residence | 'The investor's contribution to the company must not be less than AED 1,000,000 in cash or its equivalent' | Not stated as a fixed term on the ICP card; ICP FAQ says some categories such as investors may extend to five years or more | Your company | ICP residence card; ICP FAQ |
| Green residence (investor or partner), Dubai | Share 'cannot be less than one million paid Dirhams or its equivalent'; legal forms listed | 5 years (Green) | None | GDRFA Dubai Green investor card; u.ae Green page |
| Property-owner residence | Fully constructed, registered, fully owned, suitable for residence; income AED 10,000 per month or solvency | NOT STATED | Self, on the property | ICP residence card |
| Retirement residence | Worked 15 years and/or aged 55; property or deposit of AED 1 million, or annual income AED 180,000 (u.ae) / AED 240,000 (ICP card, Dubai) | 5 years, renewable | None | u.ae retired page; ICP card; GDRFA Dubai retired card |
Investor or partner residence via a company
The ICP card's condition: "The investor's contribution to the company must not be less than AED 1,000,000 in cash or its equivalent in foreign currencies, whether at the time of establishing the company or when contributing to an existing company." Where the capital is in kind, "the Ministry of Economy shall evaluate these shares." Documents are the passport, a photograph, the trade licence and the partnership or investment agreement. Families of investors carry a financial guarantee of AED 3,000 per member up to AED 15,000.
In Dubai the equivalent card is the Green visa for an investor or partner: the share "cannot be less than one million paid Dirhams", and the company must be one of the legal forms listed on the card (in its wording: public shareholding company, private joint stock company, limited liability company, "Simple recommendation company" and "Solidarity Company"). The Green residence runs five years, needs no sponsor and allows family sponsorship. A separate GDRFA Dubai rule applies to a partner sponsoring family on a smaller stake: "the partner's share must be at least 48 thousand Dirhams, as stated in the partnership agreement."
Property-owner residence: conditions stated, duration not
The ICP card lists four conditions: "The property must be fully constructed and does not include owners of vacant land." "The property ownership must be registered with the competent real estate registration authority." "The property must be fully owned by the applicant and suitable for residence." "The applicant must have a monthly income of at least AED 10,000 ... or prove financial solvency throughout the residence period in the UAE."
What the card does not state is the duration of the permit or a minimum property value. Private websites quote a two-year Dubai property visa at AED 750,000; that figure is not on any official page we read and we do not publish it as a rule. GDRFA Dubai lists a "Renewal of a residence permit for a property owner" service, which confirms the route exists in Dubai without stating its terms on the list page we read. Ask the authority for the duration and any value threshold before buying for residence purposes; for property that reaches AED 2 million, the property-investor Golden Visa has published conditions.
Retirement residence: two official pages, two sets of figures
The retirement route is verified, but the two official pages disagree on two points. We quote both.
| Condition | u.ae retired page (updated 28 Jul 2026) | ICP residence card (dated 11 Dec 2024) |
|---|---|---|
| Work history and age | 'must have worked for not less than 15 years inside or outside the UAE and be at least 55 years old at the time of retirement' (both) | 'The service period prior to retirement must not be less than 15 years ... or the individual must have reached the age of 55 years' (either) |
| Property or savings option | Own property of no less than AED 1 million and have financial savings of no less than AED 1 million | Own property worth at least AED 1 million or a financial deposit of the same value, deposited in a UAE financial institution within 60 days of residence issuance |
| Income option | Annual income of at least AED 180,000; 'to apply for a visa from Dubai, the annual fixed income must not be less than AED 240,000' | Annual income must not be less than AED 240,000 |
| Duration | Long-term visa of 5 years | 5 years (GDRFA Dubai: renewable under the same terms) |
Documents and who issues them
| Document | Issued by | Route |
|---|---|---|
| Trade licence | DET, another emirate's economic department, or the free zone authority | Investor or partner |
| Partnership or investment agreement | The company; notarised as the licensing authority requires | Investor or partner |
| Ministry of Economy valuation of in-kind shares | Ministry of Economy and Tourism | Investor with in-kind capital |
| Title deed registered with the real-estate registration authority | Dubai Land Department or the emirate's registry | Property owner; retirement (property option) |
| Proof of monthly income of AED 10,000 or of solvency | Employer, bank or company | Property owner |
| Deposit confirmation from a UAE financial institution (within 60 days of residence issuance) | UAE bank | Retirement (deposit option, ICP) |
| Six-month bank statement showing annual income | Bank | Retirement (income option, GDRFA Dubai) |
| Proof of 15 years' service or age 55 | Employers; passport | Retirement |
Official fees stated
ICP: application AED 100; issuance AED 100 per year; smart service AED 100; status adjustment AED 500; investor family guarantee AED 3,000 per member up to AED 15,000. GDRFA Dubai Green investor entry permit: AED 200 plus VAT, AED 10 and AED 10, AED 500 inside the country. GDRFA Dubai retired permit: AED 200, AED 10 and AED 10, AED 500 inside the country, AED 20 delivery, and "the issuance fee increases by AED100 for each year whenever the residency is more than two years". Medical, Emirates ID and licensing costs are separate.
Check before you apply
- Is your contribution AED 1,000,000 in cash, or in kind and valued by the Ministry of Economy?
- Is the company one of the legal forms on the GDRFA Dubai card, if you are applying in Dubai?
- For property: is it completed, registered, fully in your name and suitable for residence, and can you show AED 10,000 per month or solvency?
- For retirement: which page's condition does the authority apply to you, and do you meet the stricter one?
- Will the retirement deposit be placed in a UAE financial institution within 60 days of residence issuance, as the ICP card requires?
- If you already hold a residence, do not cancel it before the new one is approved.
Next step
Tell us which of the three routes you are considering, the emirate, and the figures behind it: the paid-up share, the property and its registration, or your age, service and income. We will say which official condition applies, where the pages disagree, and whether a Golden Visa category is within reach instead. The Golden Visa eligibility checker is a quick first screen.
Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.
Frequently asked questions
How much do I need to invest for a UAE investor residence visa?
The ICP card requires a contribution to the company of not less than AED 1,000,000 in cash or its equivalent. GDRFA Dubai's Green investor card uses the same AED 1,000,000 paid share.
Can I get a residence visa by buying property under AED 2 million?
The ICP card describes a property-owner residence with conditions on the property and an income of AED 10,000 per month or solvency, but it does not state a minimum value or the permit's duration. The AED 750,000 figure on private sites is unverified.
What is the income requirement for the UAE retirement visa?
u.ae says AED 180,000 a year (AED 240,000 from Dubai); the ICP service card says AED 240,000. Plan on AED 240,000 unless ICP confirms the lower figure in writing.
Do I need to be 55 and have worked 15 years?
u.ae requires both; the ICP card accepts either 15 years of service or age 55. Confirm which the authority applies to you.
Can an investor sponsor family?
Yes, subject to the family sponsorship conditions. ICP lists a financial guarantee of AED 3,000 per family member up to AED 15,000 for investors' families. In Dubai a partner sponsoring family needs a share of at least AED 48,000.
Is the investor residence the same as the Golden Visa?
No. The investor residence on the ICP card is a company-based residence at AED 1,000,000; the Golden Visa investor categories have their own thresholds and run five or ten years. See Golden Visa for investors.
Official sources and review
The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.
- ICPIssuing Residency Permit — service card (all residence types)Checked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiGreen visa issuance — investor or partnerChecked 4 September 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Green visaChecked 4 September 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Residence visa for the retiredChecked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiResidence permit for the retired foreignerChecked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiEntry visa for residence without work — family sponsorshipChecked 4 September 2026
- GDRFA DubaiRenewal of residency visa — service listChecked 4 September 2026
- ICPICP frequently asked questionsChecked 4 September 2026
Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.
Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.
Investing or retiring in the UAE?
Tell us the route, the emirate and the figures behind it. We will say which official condition applies, where the pages disagree, and whether a Golden Visa category is within reach.
No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.