UAE Golden Visa (Golden Residence): categories, thresholds and how it works
An independent, source-checked guide to the UAE Golden Visa: every category on the ICP Golden Residency Guide with its official duration and threshold, who applies where (ICP or GDRFA Dubai), what the visa gives you, and where the official pages are silent.
The short answer
The UAE Golden Visa is a renewable long-term residence visa, now listed at 10 years for every category on the ICP Golden Residency Guide (updated 10 September 2026), that you hold without an employer or family sponsor. It lets you live, work or study in the UAE, sponsor your spouse, children and, per ICP, your parents, and stay outside the country for longer than the usual six months without losing it. ICP issues it for Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah; GDRFA handles Dubai files. Where the ICP guide and the UAE Government portal disagree, this page says so.
A visa this valuable attracts a lot of confusing, and sometimes wrong, information online, and it is easy to worry you will apply under the wrong category. We show you only what the official sources say, help you find the one category your evidence already fits, and stay with you through each step.
How it works, step by step
- Step 1: Find the category that fits you
You tell us what you hold: property, savings, a salary, a degree or a talent. We match it to the Golden Visa category whose evidence you already have.
- Step 2: Gather the one letter that proves your category
Each category rests on a specific letter, such as a property-value letter from the land department. We tell you exactly which one and who issues it.
- Step 3: We prepare and submit your applicationWe handle this
We file your nomination or application through ICP or, for Dubai files, GDRFA, the Dubai residency authority, with your documents in order.
- Step 4: We arrange your entry if you are abroadWe handle this
If you are outside the UAE, we arrange the multiple-entry permit ICP uses to let you come in and finish the process.
- Step 5: We guide your medical, Emirates ID and residenceWe handle this
We take you through the medical test, Emirates ID biometrics and the final residence stamp within the 60-day window.
- Step 6: We help you sponsor your familyWe handle this
Once your own residence is issued, we handle the applications for your spouse and children.
Key facts
- Validity
- ICP Golden Residency Guide (updated 10 Sep 2026) and ICP FAQ (updated 8 Oct 2026): 10 years, renewable, no sponsor, for every category. u.ae (updated 28 Jul 2026) still lists 5 years for real-estate investors, entrepreneurs and high-school students. Treat 5 years as the cautious planning assumption for those three until u.ae catches up.
- Ten-year categories (ICP)
- Public investors, real-estate investors, entrepreneurs, first line of defence, scientists and specialists (incl. specialised professionals), humanitarian pioneers, outstanding students, exceptional talents
- Family
- Spouse and children of any age; ICP also lists parents and domestic workers. If the holder dies, family may stay until their permits expire (ICP guide, 10 Sep 2026)
- Absence rule
- Golden holders re-enter at any time while the residency is valid; the 180-day rule and its AED 100-per-30-days entry-permit fine do not apply (u.ae general provisions, 28 Sep 2026; ICP permit card)
- Applying from abroad
- Six-month multiple-entry entry visa to complete the file, renewable once for six months (ICP guide); ICP extension card fee AED 1,000
- Official fees (ICP card)
- AED 100 application + AED 100 per year of residency + AED 100 smart-service fee; Dubai fees are set by GDRFA
- Official channels
- ICP smart services for six emirates; GDRFA Dubai for Dubai files; Ministry of Culture recommendation portal for creatives
What the Golden Visa is, in the authorities' own words
In plain terms, the Golden Visa is the UAE's way of giving people it wants to keep a long, secure stay. The UAE Government portal describes it as "a long-term residence visa which enables foreign talents to live, work or study in the UAE", with four benefits: a renewable residence of 5 or 10 years, no sponsor, the freedom to stay outside the UAE for longer than the six months that would normally cancel a residence visa, and the right to sponsor your family "including spouses and children". The ICP Golden Residency Guide says the same in slightly different words and adds "automatic renewal".
One point of vocabulary: ICP, the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Security, calls the visa the Golden Residency or Golden Residence; u.ae calls it the Golden visa. They are the same thing, issued under Federal Decree-Law No. 29 of 2021 on Entry and Residence of Foreigners and its Executive Regulations. The category detail on this site comes from the ICP guide and u.ae, not from the regulation text, which was not readable on the legislation portal when we checked.
What changed in October 2026
Checked 17 October 2026. The ICP Golden Residency Guide was re-published on 10 September 2026, six days after our previous review, and it changes four things this hub used to state:
- Duration. ICP now lists 10 years for every category, including real-estate investors and entrepreneurs. The UAE Government portal (u.ae, updated 28 July 2026) still shows 5 years for real-estate investors, entrepreneurs and high-school students. Two official pages, two answers: we show both and we will update this line when u.ae changes.
- Property financing. ICP now states a qualifying property "may be financed through a loan, provided that the financing is obtained from an approved local bank", and that off-plan units of at least AED 2,000,000 bought from an approved local developer count. Our earlier "without loans" line came from the previous guide.
- Entrepreneurs. The AED 500,000 project route is no longer on the ICP page. ICP now asks for a UAE-registered SME with annual revenue of at least AED 1,000,000, or a founder whose sold ventures total at least AED 7,000,000, plus approval of the venture idea from an accredited incubator or a listed authority.
- Salaried professionals. ICP now publishes a Specialised Professionals route: a valid work permit under an approved employment contract, at least a bachelor's degree, a monthly salary of at least AED 30,000, and an occupation at MOHRE level 1 or 2. We previously wrote that AED 30,000 appeared on no official page; it does now.
Also new since our last review: u.ae's residence-visa provisions page (28 September 2026) confirms the overstay fee is standardised at AED 50 per day and that Golden and Green holders do not need the re-entry permit that other residents need after 180 days abroad.
Every category, with the duration and threshold the official pages state
This table follows the category order and wording of the ICP guide. The duration column is what the ICP guide and the u.ae table say on the review date, not what private websites say. The threshold column is the amount or credential the guide names; where the guide names only a letter and no number, the cell says so.
| Category (official wording) | Duration stated | Threshold or core evidence stated | Page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Investors in public investments | 10 years | Deposit of at least AED 2 million with an investment fund or a national bank, or company capital of at least AED 2 million, or FTA letter showing annual taxes of at least AED 250,000 | Investor Check this category |
| Investors in real estate | 10 years (ICP, 10 Sep 2026) / 5 years (u.ae, 28 Jul 2026) | Land-registration letter: property or properties worth AED 2 million or more; a loan from an approved local bank is allowed; off-plan from an approved local developer counts | Property investor Check this category |
| Entrepreneurs | 10 years (ICP, 10 Sep 2026) / 5 years (u.ae, 28 Jul 2026) | UAE-registered SME with annual revenue of at least AED 1,000,000, or founder of sold ventures totalling at least AED 7,000,000; approval of the venture idea from an accredited incubator or a listed authority; health insurance | Entrepreneur Check this category |
| Specialised professionals | 10 years | Valid work permit under an approved employment contract, at least a bachelor's degree, monthly salary of at least AED 30,000, occupation at MOHRE level 1 (chairpersons, chief executives) or level 2 (specialists) | Skilled professionals Check this category |
| Scientists and researchers | 10 years | Significant achievements and high impact in their field, as the ICP guide words it | Doctors and scientists Check this category |
| Exceptional talents: doctors, scientists, inventors | 10 years | Accreditation letter (Ministry of Health), recommendation from the Emirates Council of Scientists or a scientific award, or a Ministry of Economy recommendation | Doctors and scientists Check this category |
| Exceptional talents: creatives in culture and arts, athletes | 10 years | Accreditation letter from the Ministry of Culture and Youth or a Department of Culture and Arts; recommendation from the General Sports Authority or a sports council | Talent and creatives Check this category |
| Outstanding students | 10 years (ICP, 10 Sep 2026); u.ae still lists 5 years for high school | High school: Ministry of Education recommendation and a score of 95% or more. University: GPA of 3.8 or more from an accredited university, within two years of graduation | Outstanding students Check this category |
| Humanitarian pioneers and frontline heroes | 10 years | Certificates of appreciation; five years' involvement or 500 volunteer hours; or financial support of at least AED 2 million | Not yet a separate page; see eligibility Check this category |
Which category fits you: a decision table
Most people who ask about the Golden Visa are not sure which category to apply under, and the categories are not interchangeable. The evidence differs, the issuing body of the key letter differs, and in some cases the duration differs. Use this table to narrow it down, then read the category page.
| Your situation | Category to look at first | The document that decides it |
|---|---|---|
| You own UAE property worth AED 2 million or more (a loan from an approved local bank is allowed) | Real-estate investor | Land-registration letter stating ownership and value |
| You hold AED 2 million deposited with an investment fund or a national bank in the UAE | Public investor | Fund or bank letter confirming the deposit |
| You own a UAE company with capital of AED 2 million or more | Public investor | Licence plus Memorandum of Association showing capital |
| Your company pays AED 250,000 or more a year in tax | Public investor | Federal Tax Authority letter |
| You own a UAE-registered SME with annual revenue of AED 1,000,000 or more, or you founded ventures sold for AED 7,000,000 or more in total | Entrepreneur | Revenue or sale evidence plus approval of the venture idea from an accredited incubator or listed authority |
| You earn AED 30,000 a month or more, hold a bachelor's degree and a UAE work permit, and your occupation is at MOHRE level 1 or 2 | Specialised professional | Work permit, employment contract, salary certificate and degree |
| You hold a PhD or a degree in a priority scientific or engineering field and have a UAE contract | Exceptional talents: specialist | Certified degree plus employment contract |
| You are a licensed doctor, a scientist or an inventor | Exceptional talents | Ministry of Health accreditation; Emirates Council of Scientists letter or award; Ministry of Economy recommendation |
| You work in culture, the arts or sport | Exceptional talents: creatives or athletes | Ministry of Culture accreditation (apply through mcy.gov.ae) or a sports-authority recommendation |
| You finished secondary school with 95% or more, or university with a GPA of 3.8 or more in the last two years | Outstanding student | Ministry of Education or university recommendation with the transcript |
| You earn a good salary but none of the above applies | Consider the Green visa instead | See the comparison below |
Where you apply: ICP or GDRFA Dubai
The UAE has one federal immigration law but two front doors. ICP handles visa and residence services for Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah. The General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs – Dubai (GDRFA Dubai) handles Dubai files. Both issue Golden residencies; the forms, fee lines and appointment systems differ.
| ICP (six emirates) | GDRFA Dubai | |
|---|---|---|
| Online channel | ICP smart services Golden visa dashboard and eligibility check, with UAE Pass login; UAEICP app | GDRFA smart services, the GDRFA app, Dubai Now, and Amer service centres |
| Verification step | Nomination request for Golden Residence, then residence issuance | Golden Visa Appointment service to book a verification visit to a GDRFA office |
| Fee lines published | Application AED 100; issuance AED 100 per year; smart service AED 100; family financial guarantee AED 3,000 per member (maximum AED 15,000) | A note on the retired-foreigner card states Golden residency for 5 years: residence fees AED 2,280 and identity card fee AED 575; we could not find a Golden-specific fee card |
| Applying from abroad | Six-month multiple-entry permit to finalise Golden Residency, extendable once for AED 1,000 | Not described on the pages we read |
| Contact | 600 522 222 (from abroad +971 600 522 222) | 800 5111 (from abroad +971 4 313 9999) |
Where are you now? The route and the file from your starting point
The authority, the first step and the fee lines depend on where you are when you apply. Pick your situation; the three blocks below are drawn from our application process and requirements and documents pages, checked 4 September 2026.
Where are you now?
- Nomination or eligibility from abroad through ICP smart services with UAE Pass, or through GDRFA Dubai for a Dubai file.
- Six-month multiple-entry permit issued to finalise the Golden Residency; it can be extended once for an equivalent period (AED 1,000 plus the AED 100 application fee on the ICP visa-extension card).
- Enter the UAE and complete medical fitness, Emirates ID and residence issuance. The ICP card requires completion within 60 days of entry; overstaying attracts AED 50 per day.
Documents to bring: a passport valid for at least six months, a personal photograph, and the category letter the ICP guide names (land-registration, fund, Federal Tax Authority, auditor, ministry or council letter). Degrees and marriage or birth certificates issued abroad are normally attested in the issuing country and by the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs before a UAE authority accepts them.
This route is supported by ICP service cards rather than by a published step-by-step page; confirm the current sequence with ICP or GDRFA Dubai before you travel.
- Eligibility check on ICP smart services with UAE Pass; keep the result. Then submit the nomination request for Golden Residence through the Golden visa dashboard.
- Cancellation and status change. The existing residence is cancelled (the employer does this for an employment residence, after cancelling the work permit with MOHRE) and the status-adjustment request is filed for AED 500, so you complete the residency without leaving. Sequence family cancellations so their residencies are not left without a sponsor.
- Medical fitness at an approved centre (applicants aged 18 and over), then the Emirates ID application and biometrics.
- Residence issuance. The ICP card gives a service completion duration of 2 days for this step only. Fee lines: application AED 100, issuance AED 100 per year, smart service AED 100.
Documents every applicant needs (ICP residence card): passport valid for at least six months, personal photograph, proof of eligibility for the category, medical fitness certificate, Emirates ID application; a national ID copy for nationals of Afghanistan, Iran and Iraq. Add the category letter from layer two of the checklist.
- Golden visa services through GDRFA Dubai online, the GDRFA app, Dubai Now, or an Amer service centre.
- Nomination and verification. Book the GDRFA Golden Visa Appointment to visit a GDRFA office for verification; bring originals.
- Status change. GDRFA cards for other residence types apply an inside-country fee of AED 500; we could not find a Golden-specific card stating this, so confirm at the Amer centre.
- Medical fitness at Dubai Health Authority centres, then Emirates ID.
- Residence issuance. The GDRFA note we found states, for a five-year Golden residency, residence fees of AED 2,280 and an identity card fee of AED 575; a Golden-specific fee card was not found.
Documents: the same layer-one items as the ICP card (passport valid for at least six months, photograph, proof of eligibility for the category, medical fitness, Emirates ID application) plus the category letter from layer two of the checklist. Dubai and ICP fees, forms and appointment systems are not the same.
What the visa gives you
Four things, on the official wording: residence without a sponsor, renewable and described by ICP as automatic; exemption from the rule that voids a residence after 180 continuous days abroad; the right to sponsor a spouse and children; and a route to employment through a two-year Golden visa holder work permit that an employer obtains from MOHRE. ICP lists parents among sponsorable family (10 Sep 2026); u.ae still says spouse and children. The benefits page sets out each with its condition and lists the benefits people assume that are not on any official page.
Golden Visa or Green visa?
If you are employed or self-employed in the UAE and do not meet a Golden threshold, the Green residence is usually the route to compare. It is also self-sponsored and also exempt from the 180-day absence rule. The table below uses the ICP Green Residence Guide (updated 12 September 2026) and the ICP Golden Residency Guide (updated 10 September 2026).
| Golden Visa | Green visa | |
|---|---|---|
| Duration | 10 years on the ICP guide (10 Sep 2026); u.ae still lists 5 years for three categories | 5 years |
| Sponsor | None | None |
| Who it is for | Investors, entrepreneurs, specialised professionals, scientists, exceptional talents, outstanding students, humanitarian pioneers | Skilled workers, freelancers and self-employed, investors and business partners |
| Salary or income test | Specialised professionals: at least AED 30,000 a month, bachelor's degree, work permit, MOHRE occupation level 1 or 2 (ICP, 10 Sep 2026) | Skilled workers: at least AED 15,000 a month, bachelor's degree, MOHRE occupation level 1 to 3. Freelancers: AED 360,000 income over the previous two years |
| Capital test | AED 2 million (investors); entrepreneurs: SME annual revenue of AED 1,000,000 or sold ventures of AED 7,000,000 | Proof of investment or contribution to a business venture; the GDRFA Dubai card sets a share of at least AED 1 million |
| Family | Spouse and children; ICP also lists parents | Spouse and children; the ICP card also says Green holders may sponsor first-degree relatives |
| Absence over six months | Exempt | Exempt |
| Grace period after expiry | Not stated on the Golden pages | Up to 6 months (ICP FAQ) |
What the official pages do not say
- Processing time. Not stated. The ICP residence card gives 2 days for the permit-issuance step only; verification, medical and Emirates ID are on top.
- Total cost. Not stated. ICP publishes individual fee lines; medical, Emirates ID and typing charges are separate.
- Duration for three categories. The two official pages now disagree on duration for real-estate investors, entrepreneurs and high-school students; see 'What changed in October 2026'.
Next step
Start with the Golden Visa eligibility checker, which asks the same questions the category table above does and points you to the right page. Then read requirements and documents for the checklist by category, and the application process for the sequence inside the UAE and from abroad. If you would like a consultant to look at your evidence before you file, use the form below.
Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.
Frequently asked questions
Is the UAE Golden Visa 5 or 10 years?
ICP's guide (10 September 2026) and ICP's FAQ (8 October 2026) say 10 years for every category. The UAE Government portal (28 July 2026) still says 5 years for real-estate investors, entrepreneurs and high-school students. Plan on 5 for those three until u.ae is updated; the permit you receive will state its own validity.
How much does the UAE Golden Visa cost in government fees?
On the ICP residency-permit card: AED 100 application, AED 100 per year of residency and AED 100 smart-service fee, plus medical fitness and Emirates ID charges billed separately. Dubai files are priced by GDRFA. Any service fee from a private firm is separate from these and should be itemised for you.
Can I get a Golden Visa with a mortgaged property?
Yes, as of the ICP guide dated 10 September 2026: the property may be financed through a loan from an approved local bank, and the total value must be at least AED 2,000,000. Before that date the guide said 'without loans'. Keep the bank's letter with your file.
Do I qualify for a Golden Visa on a AED 30,000 salary?
Possibly. ICP now lists a Specialised Professionals route: a valid UAE work permit under an approved contract, at least a bachelor's degree, a monthly salary of at least AED 30,000 and an occupation at MOHRE level 1 (chairpersons, chief executives) or level 2 (specialists). Salary alone is not enough; the occupation level is checked.
Can I apply for the Golden Visa from outside the UAE?
Yes. ICP issues a six-month multiple-entry entry visa so you can complete the file inside the country, renewable once for six months. The ICP extension card lists it at AED 1,000.
Can a Golden Visa holder sponsor parents?
ICP's guide (10 September 2026) lists spouses, children of any age and parents. u.ae still mentions spouses and children only. Ask the authority handling your file to confirm the parent route before you plan around it.
Do I need a sponsor or employer for a Golden Visa?
No. The visa is self-sponsored. Once issued, an employer who hires you applies for a two-year Golden visa holder work permit from MOHRE (u.ae work-permits page, updated 14 October 2026).
What is the difference between Golden Residence and Golden Visa?
Nothing. ICP calls it Golden Residence (or Golden Residency); u.ae and most people say Golden Visa. Same permit, same rules.
Official sources and review
The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 30 days and after any announced change.
- ICPGolden Residency Guide (Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Security)Checked 17 October 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)Golden visa — types of visasChecked 17 October 2026
- ICPIssuing residency permit — service card (fees and conditions)Checked 17 October 2026
- ICPICP frequently asked questionsChecked 17 October 2026
- UAE Government portal (u.ae)General provisions for the residence visaChecked 17 October 2026
- GDRFA DubaiGDRFA Dubai — services directory (Golden residency sits under Residency Services)Checked 17 October 2026
- ICPGreen Residence GuideChecked 17 October 2026
- UAE Legislation portalFederal Decree-Law No. 29 of 2021 on Entry and Residence of ForeignersChecked 4 September 2026
Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.
Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.
Not sure which category you fit?
Tell us what you hold: property, capital, a salary certificate, a degree, a recommendation. A consultant will map it to the category whose evidence you already have and tell you what is missing.
No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.
