Skip to content
ImmigrationUAEVisas · Residency · Business
Invest

Invest in the UAE: how investment connects to residence

The UAE routes where an investment produces a residence visa, as the official pages state them: the AED 2 million property Golden Visa (5 years), the AED 2 million public-investor Golden Visa (10 years), the entrepreneur Golden Visa, investor and partner residence through a company, the property-owner residence and the retirement residence, with what each requires and what is not stated.

Last reviewed 4 September 2026Checked against official UAE sources · re-reviewed every 60 days

The short answer

Investment leads to UAE residence through defined routes, each with its own threshold and authority. Property of AED 2 million or more, held without loans, supports a 5-year Golden Visa; capital of AED 2 million in a fund or a company, or AED 250,000 in annual taxes, supports a 10-year public-investor Golden Visa; a project valued at AED 500,000 or more can support a 5-year entrepreneur Golden Visa; a contribution of AED 1,000,000 to a company supports investor or partner residence; and a completed, fully owned property with a monthly income of AED 10,000 supports a property-owner residence. Retirees aged 55 with property or savings of AED 1 million can apply for a 5-year retirement residence. Buying something does not itself create a visa; the application rests on the documents the authority names.

Key facts

Property Golden Visa
Property of AED 2 million or more, without loans, per a land registration department letter; 5 years (ICP guide, u.ae)
Public-investor Golden Visa
AED 2 million capital (fund deposit or company MOA) or an FTA letter showing AED 250,000 annual taxes; 10 years
Entrepreneur Golden Visa
Auditor letter confirming project value of at least AED 500,000 plus an incubator or authority letter; 5 years
Investor or partner residence via a company
Contribution of at least AED 1,000,000 (ICP); Green residence for investors and partners is 5 years
Property-owner residence
Completed, registered, fully owned residential property and income of AED 10,000 a month or proven solvency; duration not stated on the ICP card
Retirement residence
5 years; property or deposit of AED 1 million, or annual income; u.ae and ICP differ on the income figure and on the 15-years and age-55 test
Absence rule
Golden and Green holders may stay outside the UAE beyond six months without losing residence

How investment connects to residence

The UAE does not sell residence. Each route on this page is a residence category with its own conditions, and the investment is the evidence that satisfies one of those conditions. That distinction matters in practice: the authority does not ask how much you spent, it asks for the document that proves the category, whether that is a land registration letter, a fund letter, an MOA, an auditor's letter or a tax letter from the FTA.

The long-term routes are run federally by the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security (ICP), with GDRFA Dubai handling Dubai files. The ICP Golden Residency Guide, updated 20 August 2026, and the UAE Government portal's Golden visa page, updated 28 July 2026, are the controlling texts for the Golden routes; the ICP residence service card and the Green Residence Guide cover the company and property-owner routes; the u.ae retired page and the ICP card cover retirement.

Investment routes to residence

Thresholds and durations as stated on the official pages checked on 4 September 2026. We re-check this table every 60 days.
What you invest inResidence routeOfficial thresholdDurationWhere it is stated
Real estateGolden Visa: investor in real estateOne or more properties valued at AED 2 million or more, without loans, confirmed by a land registration department letter5 yearsICP Golden Residency Guide; u.ae Golden visa table
An investment fund deposit or company capitalGolden Visa: investor in public investmentsAccredited fund letter confirming a deposit of at least AED 2 million, or a commercial or industrial licence with an MOA showing capital of at least AED 2 million, or an FTA letter confirming annual taxes of at least AED 250,00010 yearsICP Golden Residency Guide; u.ae
A technology or innovation projectGolden Visa: entrepreneurAuditor letter confirming project value of at least AED 500,000, plus a letter from an accredited incubator or the relevant authority confirming the project is innovative, technology-based or future-oriented5 yearsICP Golden Residency Guide
Shares in a UAE companyInvestor residence sponsored by the companyContribution to the company of at least AED 1,000,000 in cash or equivalent; in-kind contributions valued by the Ministry of EconomyNot stated on the ICP card for this categoryICP residence service card
Shares in a UAE companyGreen residence: investor or partnerProof of investment with the necessary licences (ICP); Dubai card: share of at least AED 1,000,000 paid5 years, self-sponsoredICP Green Residence Guide; GDRFA Dubai card
A home you own and live inProperty-owner residenceProperty fully constructed, registered with the competent authority, fully owned and suitable for residence; monthly income of at least AED 10,000 or proven solvencyNot stated on the ICP cardICP residence service card
Property or savings in retirementRetirement residenceAged 55 or with 15 years' service (the two pages word this differently); property or deposit of AED 1 million, or annual income (AED 180,000 on u.ae; AED 240,000 on the ICP card and for Dubai)5 yearsu.ae retired page; ICP card; GDRFA Dubai card

The Golden Visa (Golden Residence) routes

Three of the routes above sit inside the Golden Visa programme. u.ae describes the Golden visa as "a long-term residence visa which enables foreign talents to live, work or study in the UAE" with a residence valid for 5 or 10 years, no sponsor, the ability to stay outside the UAE beyond the usual six months, and the ability to sponsor spouses and children. ICP adds that renewal is automatic.

On duration for property investors, both official pages say 5 years for real-estate investments and 10 years for public investments. Many private sites say 10 years for property. We publish what the official pages state and flag the difference; the property investor page sets out the documents and the "without loans" condition in full. The public-investor route, including the AED 250,000 tax-letter alternative, is on the Golden Visa investor page, and the project-based route on the entrepreneur page.

Residence through a company you invest in

If your investment is a shareholding in a UAE company, two routes apply. The company-sponsored investor residence on the ICP service card requires a contribution of at least AED 1,000,000 in cash or its equivalent, at incorporation or when joining an existing company, with the Ministry of Economy valuing any in-kind contribution. The self-sponsored Green residence for investors and partners requires proof of investment with the necessary licences; GDRFA Dubai's card puts the share at not less than AED 1,000,000 paid. Green residence lasts five years and allows family sponsorship. The company must hold its establishment card before either application can start. The full sequence, documents and fees are on the investor and partner visa page.

The property-owner residence

Separate from the Golden route, the ICP residence service card lists a property-owner residence with four conditions: the property must be fully constructed, so owners of vacant land do not qualify; ownership must be registered with the competent real estate registration authority; the property must be fully owned by the applicant and suitable for residence; and the applicant must have a monthly income of at least AED 10,000 or prove financial solvency throughout the residence period. The card we read does not state the duration or a minimum property value for this category. GDRFA Dubai lists a renewal service for a property-owner residence permit. Third-party sites quote a two-year Dubai property visa at AED 750,000; that figure is not on the official pages we read and we do not publish it as a rule. The Dubai property and residency page compares this route with the Golden route.

The retirement residence

u.ae states that retired foreigners can apply for a five-year residence if they have worked for at least 15 years inside or outside the UAE and are at least 55 at the time of retirement, and meet one of two conditions: own property of at least AED 1 million and hold savings of at least AED 1 million, or have an annual income of at least AED 180,000, rising to AED 240,000 for Dubai applications. The ICP service card words the first test as 15 years of service or age 55, accepts property worth AED 1 million or a deposit of the same value in a UAE financial institution within 60 days of residence issuance, and puts the annual income at AED 240,000. GDRFA Dubai lists the residence as five years, renewable on the same terms.

The two official pages differ on the income figure and on whether the 15-year and age-55 tests are cumulative. We publish both and recommend written confirmation from ICP or GDRFA Dubai before you plan around either.

What every route shares

  • A residence application, not a purchase: the authority issues residence on the documents it names, and the investment is evidence.
  • Entry, a medical fitness test for applicants aged 18 and above, Emirates ID biometrics and residence issuance within 60 days of entry (ICP); overstaying after any grace period costs AED 50 a day.
  • Family sponsorship once residence is issued, subject to the sponsor conditions on the ICP card: AED 4,000 a month, or AED 3,000 plus housing, with adequate housing and proof of kinship.
  • For Golden and Green holders, exemption from the rule that nullifies residence after more than six months outside the UAE; other residents need ICP's re-entry permit after 180 days.
  • Official fees stated per route on the ICP and GDRFA Dubai service cards; medical, Emirates ID and typing charges are separate and are not published as a package anywhere official.

What the official pages do not state

  • A 10-year Golden Visa for property investors. The official pages say 5 years.
  • Whether mortgaged or off-plan property is accepted for the Golden route. The ICP guide says "without loans" and is silent on off-plan.
  • The duration and minimum value of the property-owner residence.
  • An end-to-end processing time for any route; the ICP card lists two days for the residence-issuance step only.
  • Whether Golden holders can sponsor parents on different terms from other residents.
  • Any route where a bank deposit alone, outside an accredited investment fund, produces residence.

The sequence in every case

  1. Confirm the category with the ICP eligibility tool or GDRFA Dubai before committing funds, so the investment you make is the one the category names.
  2. Complete and document the investment: title registered in your name, capital shown in the MOA, deposit confirmed by the fund, project valued by an auditor.
  3. Obtain the category letter from the issuing body: the land registration department, the fund, the incubator or authority, the FTA.
  4. Apply through ICP smart services with UAE Pass, or through GDRFA Dubai for Dubai files; if outside the UAE, the Golden route uses a six-month multiple-entry permit to complete the procedures.
  5. Enter, complete the medical test and Emirates ID, and receive the residence within 60 days of entry.
  6. Sponsor family once your own residence is active.

Check before you invest

  • Which category will the authority place you in, and does your planned investment match its document list exactly?
  • If property: will the registration letter show AED 2 million or more, in your own name, without loans, for completed property?
  • If company capital: is the AED 2 million (Golden) or AED 1,000,000 (investor or Green) shown in the MOA or partnership agreement as paid?
  • If a fund: is the fund accredited, and will it issue the letter the ICP guide names?
  • Which office holds your file, GDRFA Dubai or ICP, and have you checked the fee card for that office?
  • Do you need to keep another residence active until the new one issues? The GDRFA Green cards say not to cancel first.

Next step

Run the Golden Visa eligibility checker to see which category your investment fits, then read the route page. If your plan involves a company, the business setup hub explains the licence and establishment card steps that come first. Or send us the investment you are planning and a consultant will tell you which route it supports, what document you will need and what is not yet confirmed officially.

Any "starting from" figure is an indicative price for our service and excludes government and third-party fees, which vary by activity, visa count and jurisdiction. Government fees shown are official charges from the cited pages at the review date. Your exact, itemised quote is confirmed free of charge in a consultation, with nothing hidden.

Frequently asked questions

How much do I need to invest to get UAE residence?

It depends on the route. The official thresholds are AED 2 million in property or public investment for the Golden Visa, AED 250,000 in annual taxes as an alternative public-investor test, AED 500,000 project value for the entrepreneur route, AED 1,000,000 contributed to a company for investor or Green residence, and for the property-owner residence a completed, fully owned home plus AED 10,000 monthly income, with no property value stated on the ICP card.

Does buying property in Dubai give me a visa?

Not automatically. Property of AED 2 million or more, without loans, supports a 5-year Golden Visa on a land registration letter. A completed, fully owned home with AED 10,000 monthly income supports the property-owner residence, whose duration and value threshold are not stated on the ICP card. See the Dubai property and residency page.

Is the property Golden Visa 5 or 10 years?

The ICP Golden Residency Guide and the u.ae table both state 5 years for real-estate investments and 10 years for public investments. Private websites often say 10 years for property. Confirm with the ICP eligibility tool for your own case.

Can I invest in a bank deposit to get residence?

The Golden public-investor route names a deposit in an accredited investment fund of at least AED 2 million, and the retirement route accepts a deposit of AED 1 million in a UAE financial institution alongside the age and service test. A plain bank deposit outside those categories is not a stated route.

Do I have to live in the UAE to keep an investor residence?

Golden and Green holders are exempt from the rule that nullifies residence after more than six months abroad; ICP lists them among the categories that may enter at any time while residence is valid. Other residence types, including the company-sponsored investor residence, are subject to the 180-day rule unless an exception applies.

Can my family come with me?

Golden and Green holders can sponsor spouses and children; Green holders may sponsor first-degree relatives. Sponsors on other residence types must meet the ICP income condition of AED 4,000 a month, or AED 3,000 plus housing.

Official sources and review

The rules on this page were checked against the official pages below. We re-check every 60 days and after any announced change.

Last reviewed

Government fees, thresholds and processing times change without notice. Where an official page does not state a figure, we say so rather than estimate. Nothing here is legal advice or a decision of any UAE authority.

Immigration UAE is a brand of Cosmos Immigration, a private immigration and business-services consultancy. It is not affiliated with the Government of the UAE, ICP, GDRFA, MOHRE or any UAE government authority.

Match your investment to a route

Tell us what you plan to invest in and where. We will tell you which residence category it supports, the document the authority will ask for, and what is not yet confirmed officially.

No private firm can guarantee the outcome of a UAE visa, residency or licensing application. Decisions rest solely with the relevant UAE authority.

In this section